Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Mounting a MSD ignition box inside cab...

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 84gmcjimmy, Mar 17, 2004.

  1. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Hey, Im thinking about upgrading to a MSD ignition and im not sure about the future with my rig, if it will still be DD or trail only. So To make things easier, I was thinking about mounting my ignition inside the cab, by the tranny hump. Has anyone done this before? Im doing this because if it does turn into a trail only rig, I dont have to rewire it into the cab later and so I dont have to worry about it getting wet in the mud. Pics would be great /forums/images/graemlins/bow.gif
     
  2. Don

    Don 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Posts:
    1,778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spokane Washington
    That's a really good idea, to keep it away from the heat of the engine compartment, out of water, mud, goo.

    I think MSD sell's a harness just for this reason, just longer, still plug's in like the rest of it doe's. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  3. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Do they? Do you no how much it would cost? Thanks
     
  4. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    ok....not to high jack..but how does an MSD system actually work? /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif
     
  5. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    it works by sending multiple sparks to the plug at rpm under 3k (i think its 3k) and helps w/ complete fuel burn. Also lets you open gap up on plugs for more power. Just installed mine (underhood) today, got more throttle response, and i opened my plug gap up to .060 from .045.
     
  6. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Mine is under the hood, it has gotten really dirty with no issues.

    I'm putting it inside though, behind the glovebox, and next to the ECM when I go EFI.
     
  7. BlazerGuy

    BlazerGuy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    9,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    abcde
    If your going to the trouble of mounting it inside, mount it higher than the trans hump. Like behind the glovebox or something like Tim said...
     
  8. Don

    Don 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Posts:
    1,778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spokane Washington
    Yep what Blazerguy said, pull the cardboard glovebox liner and see if it will fit behind there, no feet/boot's will be pulling on or yarding out wiring that way. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  9. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Good thinking, last thing I need is someone accidently smashing a brand new ignition. Thanks for the repplies /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     

Share This Page