Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Mounting ram to steering stabilizer bracket

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 8_YOUR_H2, Mar 1, 2006.

  1. 8_YOUR_H2

    8_YOUR_H2 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2000
    Posts:
    2,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    So me and a friend are mocking up the hydro assist and he thinks it would be a good idea to use the bracket on the axle tube that the stabilizer bolts to. I Say no way it would never work, only because I have never seen anyone else do it that way and wanted to sound like I am some master fabricator but really I am a dumbass.

    He says why not...the bracket is fairly stout looks almost like 3/16" which is what the tab thickness is. I think...well ok maybe it could work, never said that out loud though.

    Anyone ever seen a hydro assist ram mounted to the OEM steering stabilizer bracket on the axle tube?
     
  2. 79k20350

    79k20350 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Posts:
    7,757
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ct
    i dont see why it wouldnt work. maybe put another tab above the one thats there so it grabs both sides of the ram... other than that it should work fine.
     
  3. 1985_K5_Silverado

    1985_K5_Silverado 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Posts:
    984
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corn Country
    Perhaps a gusset or two would be a plus (there's usually no harm in overbuilding), but I'll have to look at it when I get a chance.
     
  4. MNorby

    MNorby 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    6,126
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Powell, Wy
    the prob you will run into probably is the distance, you have to have that ram on the axle end really close to the pumpkin to have enough room to put your mounts on the tierod. Measure twice, cut/ weld once.
     
  5. Eric M.

    Eric M. 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    2,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    Ditto. Looked at the same thing when I did my ram. I couldn't get it to work.

    Eric M.
     
  6. DougK20

    DougK20 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    I mounted my full-hydro ram there and it worked fine. It took some reshaping and a few gussets, but it was a good place to start.
    [​IMG]
     
  7. 8_YOUR_H2

    8_YOUR_H2 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2000
    Posts:
    2,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Did you use the hole in the tierod too?
     
  8. Ned Kelly

    Ned Kelly 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    903
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    How well do rams hold up on DD in winter road environments found in northern areas where they salt and sand the roads in the winter?
     
  9. petryshyn

    petryshyn 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Posts:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkton,Sk
    I am sure they would hold up the same as a shock in that position, so I assum just fine.
     
  10. koldsimer

    koldsimer 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    1,480
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    texas
    It looks like he did. I've heard of a lot of people running it this way with no problems.
     
  11. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    I wouldnt want that ram in single shear. Thats alot of force being applied to that 1/2" bolt.
     
  12. DougK20

    DougK20 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    It's bored out to 3/4" with grade 8 bolt. I'm not worried about it one bit.
     

Share This Page