Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Mounting Tranny to Engine

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by ChadH82, Jan 7, 2002.

  1. ChadH82

    ChadH82 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stillwater, Oklahoma
    Well it's finally time to mount the tranny to the engine. What hardware do I use to do this? I was told that I can just use a 3/8" grade 8 bolt. If this is true how long does it need to be? Anything else I need to do before mounting it? Thanks

    Chad
    '73 Blazer,383,400,Atlas II,D60/14 Bolt,traclok/detroit,39.5 Swamps <a target="_blank" href=http://members.aol.com/fileholder2meg/projblazer.html>Clicky</a>
     
  2. TorkDSR

    TorkDSR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bucks co pa
    2" i tink

    beligerence doesn't justify intelligence.
    <font color=blue>wheelers hate posers.</font color=blue>
    <font color=red>79k15/400/700r4/205/38.5</font color=red>
     
  3. ChadH82

    ChadH82 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stillwater, Oklahoma
    I've also hear 9/16". I guess I could just try sticking bolts in it. What do I torque them to? Also does anyone know what I torque the torque converter to flywheel bolts to?

    Chad
    '73 Blazer,383,400,Atlas II,D60/14 Bolt,traclok/detroit,39.5 Swamps <a target="_blank" href=http://members.aol.com/fileholder2meg/projblazer.html>Clicky</a>
     
  4. TX Mudder

    TX Mudder 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2000
    Posts:
    2,514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    No, you use a 9/16" socket to tighten the bolts. The bolts themselves are 3/8" coarse thread and that is what you buy at the hardware store.
    Beats the hell out of me what to torque them to. I just installed my engine this weekend and mated it to the SM465. It's such a restricted area that the top two bolts I could only get a wrench on so I just tightened as much as I could.
    Use loc-tite.
    -- Mike

    <font color=blue> Married to a woman who understands the need for <font color=orange>Hugger Orange. [​IMG] <font color=blue>
     
  5. ChadH82

    ChadH82 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stillwater, Oklahoma
    Ok.. sounds good. I have the advantage of having the engine and tranny on the ground so it's a lot easier. Last thing... Anyone know the length?

    Chad
    '73 Blazer,383,400,Atlas II,D60/14 Bolt,traclok/detroit,39.5 Swamps <a target="_blank" href=http://members.aol.com/fileholder2meg/projblazer.html>Clicky</a>
     
  6. ChadH82

    ChadH82 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stillwater, Oklahoma
    My Hayne's manual says I should torque the bolts to 35 ft. lbs. Does this sound right?

    Chad
    '73 Blazer,383,400,Atlas II,D60/14 Bolt,traclok/detroit,39.5 Swamps <a target="_blank" href=http://members.aol.com/fileholder2meg/projblazer.html>Clicky</a>
     
  7. 502Burban

    502Burban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Posts:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    Just some food for thought, but my tranny guy says not to use Grade 8 bolts to connect the trans to the engine. Reason he states is that if the bolt were to break or shear off, you would have a terrible time getting the broken bolt out of your block (being that G8 is tough to drill or easy-out).

    He says that Grade 5 is better; plenty strong for the job, but you wouldn't have much trouble getting a broken one out of the block if you needed to.

    Even though I am using G8 bolts for just about everything on my rig, I ended up removing my G8 trans-to-engine bolts in favor of the G5 after he pointed this out to me.

    Robb
    <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/user/robbrj>'73 GMC Suburban - 502DFI</a>
     
  8. ChadH82

    ChadH82 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stillwater, Oklahoma
    That makes sense. Anyone else have a second opinion? Does torquing them to 35 ft. lbs. sound right? Do I need a lock washer or just lock tite?

    Chad
    '73 Blazer,383,400,Atlas II,D60/14 Bolt,traclok/detroit,39.5 Swamps <a target="_blank" href=http://members.aol.com/fileholder2meg/projblazer.html>Clicky</a>
     
  9. 502Burban

    502Burban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Posts:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern California
    FWIW, same tranny guy suggested using red loctite w/flat washer and no lock-washer. Sorry, but can't recall torque spec I used.

    Robb
    <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/user/robbrj>'73 GMC Suburban - 502DFI</a>
     
  10. TorkDSR

    TorkDSR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bucks co pa
    you guys are way too exact for me, i just bolted my 205/700 combo up to my engine using whatever bolts i could find, then torked en down to 2 grunts

    beligerence doesn't justify intelligence.
    <font color=blue>wheelers hate posers.</font color=blue>
    <font color=red>79k15/400/700r4/205/38.5</font color=red>
     
  11. Ryan B.

    Ryan B. 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Posts:
    5,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    2 grunts or 35 ft/lbs. is right.[​IMG][​IMG]

    [Real Men Don't Care About Gas Mileage Or Rapid Tire Wear!]
    Ryan B.
     
  12. TX Mudder

    TX Mudder 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2000
    Posts:
    2,514
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    I just bought the bolts this weekend because my old ones were, well,old. I got grade 8 (would have got gr. 5 if I had read 502's post beforehand) and I think they were 3/8" coarse thread 2" long. I used a flat washer also.
    I think the original bolts were actually like 1 3/4" long, but the hardware store only sold 1 1/2 and 2" and I got the 2" and it worked fine with a washer.
    -- Mike



    <font color=blue> Married to a woman who understands the need for <font color=orange>Hugger Orange. [​IMG] <font color=blue>
     

Share This Page