Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Moving axle froward & swaybar???

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by grtwhite, Aug 2, 2003.

  1. grtwhite

    grtwhite 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Posts:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Macungie, PA
    I'm in the process of moving my axle forward 1.5" with zero rates and having a hard time getting the u bolts straight with the swaybar. I also installed longer shackles up front and loosened the sway bar bolts. Has anyone else run into this prolbem or have I done something wrong.
    Thanks!! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  2. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,178
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    You're prolly not going to be able to run that sway bar...unless you also move the upper sway bar mounts 1.5" forwards.

    Rene
     
  3. grtwhite

    grtwhite 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Posts:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Macungie, PA
    Rene,
    Thanks for the quick response! I was afraid that might be the only option. /forums/images/graemlins/pimp1.gif
     
  4. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,973
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    If you run the ORD swaybar discos it might work. It will work w/ the 1" offset.
     
  5. BowtieRed

    BowtieRed 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Posts:
    1,776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winston-Salem, NC
    i have found my swaybar 100% useless, all it does it hinder my flex.
     
  6. Silver84k5

    Silver84k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Posts:
    3,769
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hillsboro Oregon
    [ QUOTE ]
    i have found my swaybar 100% useless, all it does it hinder my flex.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    word
     
  7. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,178
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    I threw my sway bar out...haven't had one for almost 4 years now./forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    It really depends on how soft a front spring you run though. My Rancho's don't need help keeping the front level through a corner...maybe I'd feel the need for a sway bar if I had some Tuff country EZ rides though.

    Rene
     
  8. u2slow

    u2slow 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC Canada
    [ QUOTE ]
    I threw my sway bar out...haven't had one for almost 4 years now./forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Me too /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif It limited flex and made a racket since the bushings were all pounded out. /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif Even with stock 3-leaf springs I found it decent on mountain highways. Took a couple of corners to get used to it, but that's just like driving anything for the first time. /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif
     

Share This Page