Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Msd Issues

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by dunehopper502, May 31, 2005.

  1. dunehopper502

    dunehopper502 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Posts:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MI, U.S.A.
    I Recently Installed Msd Ready To Run Distributor,msd6a Box,
    Msd External Gm Coil And Msd Wires And My Truck Still Misses,
    I Set Base Timing To 0 Degrees Then Disconnected Battery To Clear Check Engine Light And My Computer Advanced The Crap Out Of It
    And It Sounded L;ike A Diesel,i Went And Put Some 94 Octane In It And The Spark Knock Went Away But Still Misses Any Help Is Greatly Appreciated, Thanks :)
    SORRY ITS A 90 BLAZER
     
  2. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Is it still throwing codes?
     
  3. SHAWNSTER

    SHAWNSTER 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Posts:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DALLAS,TX
    msd troubles

    check your spark plug gap-check all connections, and reset timing accordingly- when i tried to install all my msd stuff off my 80(worked like a champ) onto my 91(same stuff you have) i had a bunch of probs and ended up w/ a d.u.i dist /coil and wires and miss went away- i have worked w/ several msd igns and they all had to be tuned a bit in the begining, but when you get it right, it works weel ( my thoughts)
     
  4. ntsqd

    ntsqd 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Posts:
    3,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So. CA
    Try reversing the polarity of the pick-up coil to the MSD box. Once in a while we've run into this problem on the dyno.
     
  5. dunehopper502

    dunehopper502 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Posts:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MI, U.S.A.
    in regards to throwing codes nope,,
     
  6. dunehopper502

    dunehopper502 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Posts:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MI, U.S.A.
    ok ill try that, i mixxed some turbo blue with some premium gas to help stop the pinging, do you think this fouled my plugs possibly?
    i was also going to try disconnect my o2 to see how it runs
     
  7. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    You say it advanced timing a lot, how much?

    High timing at idle is "normal", but it should be consistent.
     
  8. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    what was the code it was throwing? Don't remove the O2 sensor, it is only going to run in open loop then. Just means it will be rich and crappy.
     
  9. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,060
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    When you set your base timing did you disconnect the EST wire first? If not then you will have WAAAAY too much timing for sure.
     

Share This Page