Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

1. TXsizeK5

TXsizeK5 1/2 ton status

What does the MSD box and coil replace? Is there a stock box and coil? Is it an easy "swap"?
    Thanks

6in 87' K5 w/ 35" BFG muds.
    Kn filter

Man, I need 350
    Damned 305's.

2. Hossbaby50

Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

The coil is an easy swap. Your currnet coil should be on the distributor cap. I did it myself back when I was a total novice at wrenching. The instructions that come with the coil are very good. The new coil goes right in were your old one came out of with no mods. I didn't do my box though. The wiring diagrams are very good, but I didn'twant to chance it so I had my mechanic do it. If you are familiar with electrical wiring on your truck you could do it pretty easy I think. The box make a world of differnece over stock, but the wires and coil help too.

If you get the box first get everything at the same time. The box amplifies the voltage going to the ignition and will burn out the stock coil quickly. The MSD coil puts out more voltage than stock too. I would recommend MSD super conductor 8.5mm wires that way the most voltage possible get to the spark plug. I run a spark plug gap of .057 compared to the stock .035 with my MSD setup. The extra gap gives you a more complete combustion which equals power. I run the MSD 6 Offroad box, MSD HEI coil, and MSD 8.5 SC wires.

My MSD probably has paid for itself in gas savings already. Not to mention the huge boost in drivability and throttle response.

3. BowtieBlazer

BowtieBlazer 1/2 ton status

I run a MSD 6A box myself...well on my old truck i have yet to nstall it on my blazer but thats coming soon....I love it!

What? You think the hole is too deep? Lemme see...
    1985 GMC C-10 Shortbed
    1984 Chevy K-5 Blazer

4. CaptCrunch