Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

MSD6AL Box Instalation

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by cjjones, Aug 11, 2006.

  1. cjjones

    cjjones 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    To the north
    I have everything hooked up but the red wire for switched power that is supposed to go to the heavy red or pink wire from the factory wiring. Does the red switched wire plug into the heavy wire and the distributor cap? or just the wire itself? So that said the tach terminal and the power plug on the outside of the HEI cap are not used?
    Any help is graetly appreiciated.
     
  2. Slapperbar

    Slapperbar Retired Navy NDT Examiner Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Harrison City, Pennsylvania
    Read the directions that came with it.
     
  3. cjjones

    cjjones 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    To the north
    Yes, I can read the directions thus, why I asked for help, the jumper wire that they say to use has two ends on it, the instructions show a straight through jumper wire, thus does it go back to the cap like I asked.
    If you have one installed and can offer advise would be great!
     
  4. dontoe

    dontoe 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Posts:
    9,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hickory, N.C.
    It's pouring rain here right now. I'll go look later..........:wink1:
     
  5. cjjones

    cjjones 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    To the north
    I got it fiqured out, I didn't have to hook it back to the distributor cap. It fired up with out it anyhow.
     

Share This Page