Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

multi battery approach - so crazy it might work?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by BillyTungsten, Aug 19, 2005.

1. BillyTungsten

BillyTungsten Registered Member

All right... I have spent enough time lurking! I need some input from you guys before I burn down / blow up something with this idea.
    I recently picked up a 1973 K5 (flew one-way from MN to CO to get it, drove it back without a hitch) I am new to K5's, and I must say: I LOVE THIS TRUCK!

Anyway, here is the scoop: I have these pieces sitting in the garage left over from an electric boat project:

(2) AGM dual-purpose (crank & cycle) group 30 Batteries
    (1) three bank, 30 amp on-board marine battery charger
    (1) Perco marine battery isolater / combiner switch

all components are nearly brand new, and I know from experience these batteries are strong and the charger suits them very well.

.. so I just picked up a 1500 watt inverter, and got to thinking.... or did I get to thinking and then pick up the inverter? Doesn't matter.

Run the alternator to the inverter, inverter to the marine charger, and charger of course to the two AGM batteries... normal operation would have the alternator charging the existing vehicle battery while also supplying juice to the inverter which is charging / maintaining the AGMs.

To use 110 power on the trail, I would turn off (I think) the charger, flip the perko switch to bring the AGM's (instead of the alternator) onto the supply side for the inverter, and whammo! Fire up the blow dryer or the disco ball or whatever.

I know I'm nuts, but I need to know: am I crazy? This is nearly a thousand bucks worth of goodies and I would rather use them for something other than holding the garage door open when I'm carrying in groceries.

Thanks!

2. Blue85