Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

my browser will not display search engine results

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by R72K5, Oct 2, 2003.

  1. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    for some reason my browser displays page unavailable when i click to make an online search engine search, at msn, google, yahoo, etc. i can view home page of them and all that but searches wont display.

    any ideas ?

    IE is my browser, on XP Home
    ive tried everything and also returning to defaults too

    thanks
     
  2. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I had a stupid hijacking program that messed with all my searches on XP a couple weeks back. Somehow it came up when I tried to go to Google(google seemed to detect it and alert me and tell me how to fix it) sorry I can't remember how to fix it. They said to use SpyBot Search and Destroy but that didn't work for me,then they gave another method that did work.
     
  3. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
  4. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    yep the http:///?%20 is a virus hijacking program. And the searches work for me so yeah.
     
  5. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  6. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    ok allkknds of things it found, what do i do with red items ?

    how do i use this thing ?

    thanks!
     
  7. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    ad aware is my fav for this sort of thing.
     
  8. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    adaware is easy to use and always finds at least a few bad items to toast /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif

    in spyware program i checked all items in red list and clicked to protect against them all
    there was probably well over 100 items listed, maybe even over 200, cookies and spyware and ive only had this OS installed for about 10 days, ill be reinstalling again anyways

    thanks
     
  9. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    yeah got to love those spyware programmers.
     
  10. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif

    welp reboot time, i also deelted all .tmp files i could find and all cookies and went through disk cleanup deleting temporary and offline stuff and history and so forth

    if i cant use search engine still after all that then i dunno what..

    i think i know how/why this happened in the first place and i took care eof that earlier today, i now have active internet connection firewall again with the router and modem



    thanks
     
  11. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Yeah I can't remember how I dealt with it. I iwll work on figuring it out. It was some file on the C: drive I was told to go delete a bunch of stuff from.
     
  12. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    hum..

    cool

    cuz i still cant search and i cant think of anything else to do now, hmm..

    once i find anothe rHDD or a CD Burner then im gonna move files i want ot save and am gonna partition and format again on this HDD and use it for secondary storage most likely


    thanks
     
  13. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    found the problem ! go here and download hijack this using the URLlink:

    http://www.cybertechhelp.com/forums/showthread.php?t=23392&highlight=hijack

    i got a warning that i have unusually high numberof hijacked items and that id be better off deletingmy entire hosts file at

    c:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts

    i did that and now im looking at other hijackeditems onmy system, i have no idea what im doing, hope i dont have to make a new hosts file ?

    its an index or data file or i dont know what kindof file but it looks like a data or index file by he icon design,

    i dont evne know how to make/replace oneof these files,

    i assume the systemwillmake a newone as i browse on the net after deleting the file ?

    thanks
     
  14. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    thats the file I had to edit. I went to the directory and then opened the files wiht notepad and read them. If you see any URLs delete them. Mine was full of like google, yahoo, alta vista, msn and all the others. If you delete it I think it should recreate itself when it comes to use it. If you have a problem PM me and I can send you my clean files.
     
  15. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    like this:

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.2
    Scan saved at 9:00:44 PM, on 10/2/2003
    Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\netdde.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\imapi.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\wpabaln.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\santa\Local Settings\Temp\Temporary Directory 1 for hijackthis.zip\HijackThis.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
    R3 - Default URLSearchHook is missing
    O1 - Hosts: 127.127.127.127 elite
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 google.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.altavista.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 altavista.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.yahoo.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 uk.search.yahoo.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 ca.search.yahoo.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 jp.search.yahoo.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 au.search.yahoo.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 de.search.yahoo.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.yahoo.co.jp
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.lycos.de
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.lycos.ca
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.lycos.jp
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.lycos.co.jp
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 alltheweb.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 web.ask.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 ask.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.ask.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.teoma.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.aol.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.looksmart.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.msn.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 auto.search.msn.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 ca.search.msn.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 fr.ca.search.msn.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.fr.msn.be
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.fr.msn.ch
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.latam.yupimsn.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.msn.at
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.msn.be
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.msn.ch
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.msn.co.in
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.msn.co.jp
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.msn.co.kr
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.msn.com.br
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.msn.com.hk
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.msn.com.my
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.msn.com.sg
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.msn.com.tw
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.msn.co.za
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.msn.de
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.msn.dk
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.msn.es
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.msn.fi
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.msn.fr
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.msn.it
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.msn.nl
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.msn.no
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.msn.se
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.ninemsn.com.au
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.t1msn.com.mx
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.xtramsn.co.nz
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.yupimsn.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 uk.search.msn.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 search.lycos.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.lycos.com
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.ca
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 google.ca
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.uk
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.co.uk
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.com.au
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.co.jp
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.jp
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.at
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.be
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.ch
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.de
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.dk
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.fi
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.fr
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.com.gr
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.com.hk
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.ie
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.co.il
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.it
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.co.kr
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.com.mx
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.nl
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.co.nz
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.pl
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.pt
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.com.ru
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.com.sg
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.co.th
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.com.tr
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 www.google.com.tw
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 google.at
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 google.be
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 google.de
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 google.dk
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 google.fi
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 google.fr
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 google.com.hk
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 google.ie
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 google.co.il
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 google.it
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 google.co.kr
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 google.com.mx
    O1 - Hosts: 207.44.194.56 google.nl
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\System32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O16 - DPF: {1D4DB7D2-6EC9-47A3-BD87-1E41684E07BB} - http://imgfarm.com/images/nocache/funwebproducts/SmileyCentralInitialSetup1.0.0.5.cab
    O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst0309.cab
    O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/d052c1d7d32ead/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/unicode/iuctl.CAB?37885.5136226852
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
     
  16. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    i take it that cookies information were used by this virus program to do this to my system ?


    or ?


    thanks! /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif
     
  17. mudjunkie 82

    mudjunkie 82 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Posts:
    11,449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Randy,you might be better off to save your important info on disk's and format your hard drive and re-install your software................. I do mine about every 6 months and you would be amazed how much faster my puter is after words.
     
  18. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    [ QUOTE ]
    Randy,you might be better off to save your important info on disk's and format your hard drive and re-install your software................. I do mine about every 6 months and you would be amazed how much faster my puter is after words.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    i just did that 11 days ago, ive doneit a billion times in the last fours years ive been online,.its damned hard to avoid worms and viruses and crap. and ive gone through atleast eight HDD's

    i have no way to save anything, i have no secondary HDD, no A drive, no CD burner, no nothing. so im screwed if i need to format again.
    i have an old gateway 98 CD that i use to run GWSCAN comand in DOS and it checks and deletes HDD nicely, its a good little utility, it erases it all and scans and checks disk too. then i go and delete partition and then format and then install OS
    i use XP Home currently, still


    i use my puter hard on the internet only, no games no anything else,sometimesim running over 20 pages all at same time on searches and such.
    i run her hard alot
    i just built this puter that 11 days ago, new motherboard and CPU, time for new HDD also now, just killed my secondary at that time also.

    you would think i would know more about how to run things like hijack and such, i have learned quite abit about registry keys and windows services and such but not near enough yet, i should just go to school for puters. i could do this all the time, wish i knew more about it though so i coyuld save my A$$ quicker and easier when this crap happens

    thanks
     
  19. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    oh yeah and puter is fixed, everything works now, nothing hijacked currently and internet connection firewall is active and it better stay that way


    thanks
     
  20. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    You got hit with some malicious code that ran through an ad in your browser (it's actually a little more complex than that), no need to reformat, the cleaning process is fairly straitforward.

    I'll post a link to symantec's write-up about it tomorrow. I had to deal with one at work, so I wrote a routine that checked every machine on my network for it. Got to know it fairly well last week...
     

Share This Page