Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

My communication station

Discussion in 'Communication (CB | GPS | HAM)' started by Z3PR, Mar 12, 2003.

  1. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    [​IMG]
     
  2. 4GUNZ4X4Z

    4GUNZ4X4Z 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Posts:
    3,459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mustang, Oklahoma
    /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif Notice the remote.
     
  3. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Yeap, my radio set up is in the living room. I can yap on the radideo while watching movies. I'm multi-talented thay way. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  4. dodgetruck91

    dodgetruck91 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Posts:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Berlin, Wisconsin
    Large radio for only puttin out 4 watts with 20% swing and 40 channels /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif
     
  5. 88Silverado

    88Silverado 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Posts:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quartz Hill, So. Cal
  6. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    [ QUOTE ]
    Large radio for only puttin out 4 watts with 20% swing and 40 channels /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

    [/ QUOTE ] My radio does quite a bit more then 4 watts,(Dead keys 25 on AM and swings up over 60) modulation swings up to 95%, don't want too over drive it now do I. And for Channels, alot more then just 40 !!!!!! Starts at 25.615 and goes up to 28.315 with all the Alpha channels in there also. I'm mostly on 27.385 lower sideband. (note, power doubles on sideband), and will really go up if I hook up a Heathkit box I've got in the closet. It's only a 2000 watt unit. I need new tubes for it, but maybe one day it'll get put in line. What I have is a 10 Meter export radio converted for 11 Meter. It's not a CB. Even though I use it to talk on CB freqs.
     
  7. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Nice radio set up. One day I'll get my ham ticket and buy a Yaezu.
     
  8. 88Silverado

    88Silverado 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Posts:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quartz Hill, So. Cal
    I got my start in in the early 70's when the family had an old 57 CJ5. We would do lots of wheelin in Death Valley with our friends. This was way before CW Mcall (sp) and "Convoy" song hit launching the big CB craze. (geez..im giving away my age). I had an old Johnson Messenger 223A base station and I remember listining to Australia on skip but not being able to work them. A friend in high school was a ham and he got my code speed up and gave me my novice test in 78.
    Wife just bought me a Yaesu FT-1000MP Mark-V for Xmas. (Think im going to keep her).
    I still need to figure where im going to mount my Johnson Messenger 123A in the Blazer tho.

    Noticed im still blue /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif Guess it takes awhile to turn Orange. This is a great site.

    Chuck
     
  9. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    [ QUOTE ]
    This is a great site.

    [/ QUOTE ] I agree !!!! You'll find all kinds of people with simular intrestes to about anything you're into. I'm into Blazers, Two-Way Radio Equipment, Big Stereo Systems, ... ect. And there is always someone willing to BS about almost anything. Gotta love this site !!!!!!!!
     
  10. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    [ QUOTE ]
    Noticed im still blue Guess it takes awhile to turn Orange. This is a great site.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    You need to become a paying member to turn orange. The cost is a measly $25 per year and goes towards paying for keeping the site up and running. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  11. 88Silverado

    88Silverado 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Posts:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quartz Hill, So. Cal
    Roger That..

    Another great site if your into Chevelles or ElCaminos is the Team Chevelle board at www.chevells.com or the tech board at http://www.chevelles.com/cgi-bin/forum/ultimatebb.cgi
    I got a ton of info there when I was doing my last project (71 ElCamino http://home1.gte.net/res096qi/71Elky.htm )

    In fact, thats how I found out about this site, several people from there referred me to here /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    I subscribed Friday evening. However, I didnt use PayPal, I went Visa instead. Maybe Steve can only post those types of transactions during his normal work week. No biggie, I paid and soon to be Orange /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    Guess im a little off topic for this fourm so I'll sign off now. 73
     
  12. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    You're orange now! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  13. 88Silverado

    88Silverado 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Posts:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Quartz Hill, So. Cal
    Feels good not being blue /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  14. VA-NC-SC

    VA-NC-SC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte
    I am working on setting up my base. I am currently only setting it up for use on CB AM, but I think I will add stuff as I go, once I get my ticket I will probably add 2 meter into the mix. All the equipment I am using, except the antenna, will be 1960s tube-driven equipment that I got from my grandfather, cool stuff. I will check back with pictures later.
     

Share This Page