Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

My Dana 70 disc brake conversion (W/ Pics & Questions)

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by MTMike, Oct 21, 2006.

  1. MTMike

    MTMike 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    So I dove head-over-heels into my Dana 70 today to start the disc conversion.

    My brackets are 14BFF brackets that were won in a drawing from Ruff Stuff Specialties (Thanks GravelMaker) They have a slight offset:

    Here are some pics:
    [​IMG]
    The drum w/ the hub separated

    [​IMG]
    The back side of the hub

    [​IMG]
    The front side of the hub

    [​IMG]
    The spindle

    [​IMG]
    With the offest I need the brackets about 1.5" closer to the rotor to properly locate the caliper

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    So, now to the questions:
    Can I build or have built a spacer and run 1.375" longer G8 bolts or is that too much length to make it unsafe? Or should I get weld-on brackets, weld the brackets to the axle where they sit? I'm leaning towards the spacers for 2 reasons.
    1) It's only 1.375" due to the offset of the RSS brackets.
    2) I don't have access to a welder powerful enough that I can bring to my house.

    I will head the spacer route unless someone on here says it's a really bad idea.

    Also, is the seal on the back of the hub enough to keep dirt & water out of the bearings without being inside of the drum?

    Thanks for any and all input!
     
  2. kgblazerfive

    kgblazerfive keymaster Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Posts:
    10,621
    Likes Received:
    610
    Location:
    Hooper, Utah 84315
    Bolts won't work. You could weld it on but not sure you can weld it where it needs to go. Best idea is build new mount. making or building a spacer may work depending on how it is done. Its only your brakes so its no big deal :D
     
  3. MTMike

    MTMike 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    I'm not thinking just putting longer bolts... I'm thinking of a 1.375" solid steel spacer that fits over the spindle with the same bolt pattern as the mounting flange with 2.5" G8 bolts. The bolts will go thru the back of the flange, thru the spacer and into the caliper mounting brackets
     
  4. kgblazerfive

    kgblazerfive keymaster Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Posts:
    10,621
    Likes Received:
    610
    Location:
    Hooper, Utah 84315
    ok that makes me feel better:D I think that that should work you could always weld it to the caliper mount which would be the same as doing a new mount.
     
  5. kgblazerfive

    kgblazerfive keymaster Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Posts:
    10,621
    Likes Received:
    610
    Location:
    Hooper, Utah 84315
    Did you move your rear front springs mounts when you put in your 52's
     
  6. MTMike

    MTMike 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    Yup. I'd have to re-meausre but I followed the guide in the tech section.
     
  7. kgblazerfive

    kgblazerfive keymaster Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Posts:
    10,621
    Likes Received:
    610
    Location:
    Hooper, Utah 84315
    Think i would be ok only moving the front ones
     
  8. sandawgk5

    sandawgk5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    6,881
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kitsap County PACNORWEST
    Since the 70 and 14FF are essentially the same if I were lucky enough to find a wide 14FF I could weld a new mount on the axle for the caliper bracket just like a 70 then eh?

    Ira
     
  9. MTMike

    MTMike 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    I wouldn't recommend it. Your shackle angle would suck

    [​IMG]

    Look at where the shackle would be if I didn't move the mount... it would be vertical
     
  10. sandawgk5

    sandawgk5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    6,881
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kitsap County PACNORWEST
    If you put 56s in it does not require you to move the rear mount but you will have to notch the front of the body mount behind the shackle due to interference.

    Ira
     
  11. MTMike

    MTMike 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    To the best of my knowledge, yes.
     
  12. kgblazerfive

    kgblazerfive keymaster Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Posts:
    10,621
    Likes Received:
    610
    Location:
    Hooper, Utah 84315
    My problem is I don't want to strip the truck down to nothing and have it end up sitting forever cause I have so much to do with it. So I am trying to see what I can do least amount of work wise to put 56in in ft and 63 in back. I have a set of 4 in normal fronts and shakle flip for the back just trying to limit my down time and my building new drive shafts costs.

    Un high jack
    do they make disc brake stuff for the 70 I noticed that the 60 parts are a lot harder to find then 14bolt
     
  13. kgblazerfive

    kgblazerfive keymaster Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Posts:
    10,621
    Likes Received:
    610
    Location:
    Hooper, Utah 84315
    But you do move the fronts out
     
  14. gmc4cw

    gmc4cw 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    3,907
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    west chester, Pa
    Kert at DIY4x has brackets for the 52's so that you do not need to move your upper shackle mount in the frame. I think they are like $150 for the pair, but it saves you a lot of work.
     
  15. sandawgk5

    sandawgk5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    6,881
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kitsap County PACNORWEST
    If you move the factory mount forward like you would for 52s you can put 56s in and not change the rear shackle mount.

    Ira
     
  16. nvrenuf

    nvrenuf NONE shall pass! Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Posts:
    13,084
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    Mobile, Al.
    Mike, I would think a spacer would be ok, in fact I'm thinking about doing this on mine to allow me to run SRW hubs on my D70. The only problem I see would be the possible overlap of the axle flange and caliper bracket bolt patterns. If some holes overlap only parcially (creating oval holes) that might allow the bracket to move when braking.

    What about getting the spacers, then cutting the caliper brackets and welding the two together so you end up with a spacer with caliper "ears"?
     
  17. Gravel Maker

    Gravel Maker 1/2 ton status Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,572
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Interesting......

    We don't yet make one for the D70 besides the weld on style, however it dosen't look too complicated to make it with just a greater bend. Is the flange the same?
     
  18. nvrenuf

    nvrenuf NONE shall pass! Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Posts:
    13,084
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    Mobile, Al.
    Yes, the 14 bolt and D70HD flange is the same. The only real diff between the two is the D70HD uses studs and nut whereas the 14 bolt is threaded.

    Gravel Maker, if you went with a greater bend would it be necessary to gusset it?
     
  19. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,550
    Likes Received:
    543
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    i would . and i think any more bend will make it weaker.

    i run 3/4 ton frt backing plates with 3/4 ton ford ttb frt rotors and a spacer between the backing plate and the flange on the axle. it works good. no problems ever. the ford rotor has a deeper backspace in it. you might want to try that to help cut down the distence needed on the spacer.

    3/4 ton ford 4x4 truck with twin ibeam front rotors are deeper back spaceing than gm 3/4 tons.
     
  20. MTMike

    MTMike 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    Yes, the flange bolted up w/ the stock bolts just fine.... the only thing making it not fit (and I knew it wouldn't but I wanted to see where I could go with it) is the offset. It looks like it would be about 1-3/8" more towards the rotor at the same height

    So could you set a spacer or something for me? It shouldn't be anything too terribly difficult

    I'll probably give you a call on Monday and talk to you about it.

    Thanks,
    Mike
     

Share This Page