Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

My foot hurts

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by afroman006, Jun 11, 2006.

1. afroman006

afroman006 1/2 ton status

About a month ago I started jogging for the first time since I graduated high school (2 years). I started off doin a mile or so a day and have worked my way up to 4 or 5 miles a day. I run on the sidewalks here in town and have a decent set of new balance shoes. Last week, the outside edge of my right foot started to hurt in the middle. Its not a debilitating hurt but its annoying. I used to get shin splints prety bad in high school and I would compare this pain to them, but I've never heard of foot splints.

It really bugs the **** out of me when I'm barefoot or wearing sandals but when I am wearing shoes or boots its almost non-existant. I went running today and it didnt bother me at all. Is it just a running related booboo that will get better all by itself or do I need to do anything special to make it stop hurting? I dont want to stop running cause its a great stress relief and I'm trying to get back into shape.

2. Corey 78K5

Corey 78K5 1 ton status

I have the same problem. When ever I get up in the middle of the night to take a piss I can hardly walk on My bare feet. My heels feel like they have been beat on. Put on My work boots in the morning and I'm good to go.

3. Skigirl

Skigirl 1/2 ton status

You have plantar faciitis. It can occasionally be treated by a combination of stetching exercises, a night splint, icing and a mild orthotic like superfeet.. If that doesn't handle it, then see a podiatrist for taping, custom orthotics and maybe an injection or 2 for pain. More here and here