Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

My SHAFT is too LONG!

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 81jimmyslt, Feb 13, 2006.

  1. 81jimmyslt

    81jimmyslt 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Posts:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So Lake Tahoe (Rubicon), CA
    I need some doubler and transmsission help.

    Has anyone here put in a doubler on their stock TH-350 that was mated to a 208 case?

    Heres the problem.....

    My 208 adapter is about 5" thick, so the output shaft on the transmission is really long.

    You can use the 208 adapter to 203 but you have to re-drill and tap the housing. I just got new rebuilt cases from NWF.

    Or I bought the 203-350 adapter on ebay, but now the shaft is way too long because the adapter is only 2" thick and the shaft isn't splined back far enough to cut.


    Options:

    1)Change out shaft on tranny -----$750
    2)Put in new th-350 --------------$1000
    3)Put in new th-400 $2500

    These are shop prices.

    Anyone else run into this problem?


    Thanks
    Jesse
     
  2. yunit

    yunit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    3,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakland, NJ
    Someone could change that th350 shaft for a lot less then that. I would get the shaft swapped out, to help keep the overall length down. The TH400 will not work because it has a 32 spline input.
     
  3. ARAMP1

    ARAMP1 Aviator Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Posts:
    3,983
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    As long as there are no complaints that your shaft isn't long enough, you should be fine. :D
     
  4. 81jimmyslt

    81jimmyslt 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Posts:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So Lake Tahoe (Rubicon), CA
    Found a guy in the town over that will do it for $250 if I pull the tranny.

    Damn good.
     
  5. yunit

    yunit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    3,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakland, NJ
    Cool! Best way to go.
     
  6. u2slow

    u2slow 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC Canada
    While I wouldn't trust myself to tear down and swap a TH350 output shaft....

    Disassemble, drill/tap, and reassemble a 203 sounds like cake.

    Or course - I don't know what your wheelbase situation is like. Maybe 3" shorter overall length is a bonus.
     
  7. 81jimmyslt

    81jimmyslt 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Posts:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So Lake Tahoe (Rubicon), CA
    Ya definately going for shortest as posssible, want to reduce driveshaft problems. Looks like I'm going to drop it and bring it to the shop and have them beef it up while there at it.
     
  8. MTBLAZER89

    MTBLAZER89 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Posts:
    7,272
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Oak Harbor, WA
    I don't know how much $$$ you have into your tranny, but you could prolly find another TH350 with the shorter shaft for a decent price too. I dunno just an option. The 208/TH350 combo might be worth something to somebody wanting to do the swap since they are kinda rare in the stock form
     
  9. 81jimmyslt

    81jimmyslt 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Posts:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So Lake Tahoe (Rubicon), CA
    Ya I already thought about that route, thats why I mentioned a th-400 might as well go all the way. But I'm trying to keep costs and time down.

    Oh and by the way my 208 case is destroyed who wants one of those flimsy things :)

    Jesse
     
  10. NorthWestFab

    NorthWestFab 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Posts:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada Eh.
    We also sell rebuilt to customer Spec TH400's. I have a 203 version on hand.

    [​IMG]

    The TH400 in the photo is a NP205 version (in your case you'd want the 203 version), rebuild, Stage 2 Shift kit, HD Sprage, and HD TCS Torque Converter. This transmission is going to Hawaii.

    Our Rebuilt TH400's Start @ $1199, No core required.
    Give us a call at the shop, we can get a custom quotation for your application, including a billet adaptor and new input gear for that 203.

    -Kyle.
    NorthWest Fab
     
  11. 81jimmyslt

    81jimmyslt 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Posts:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So Lake Tahoe (Rubicon), CA
    $1200 bones

    hmmm....thats a sweet deal, but I still think I need to shave off some more coin for other mods for now. When the time comes though I definately like the way you guys conduct business, you'll hear from me again.

    Jesse
     
  12. NorthWestFab

    NorthWestFab 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Posts:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada Eh.
    I also forgot we can proviude a TH400 with a 27 spline tailshaft - you won't have to change the input gear in the NP203.

    Talk to you soon.

    -Kyle.
     

Share This Page