Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

My TH400 is shifting sooooo BAD.

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by AzzKicker, Sep 4, 2002.

1. AzzKicker

AzzKicker 1/2 ton status

Truck is in SIG below.

Heres what happens. I have no problems taking off, in fact I'm impressed with the off the line this 6.2 produces.
    Anyway, what happens is I'll be taking off and engine sounds like its passing shift point but never shifts until you really go at it and then it just JERKS into 2nd. Its a pretty bad jerk too. What could cause this. I hope I dont need a new tranny. from 2nd to 3rd it'll sort of do the same thing but not as bad.

2. wayne

wayne 3/4 ton status

I'm no tranny expert but I would say try and new govener (sp) on it.

3. 83ZZ502_Jimmy

83ZZ502_Jimmy 1/2 ton status

Its most likely a bad vacuum modulator. Either the mod. is bad itself or, most likely the vacuum line came off somewhere.

It is located on the pass. side of the tranny near the front. Should be a bell shaped object.. It removes with one bolt.

Hope it helps,
    John

4. AzzKicker

AzzKicker 1/2 ton status

Thanks. I'll replace it right away.

5. Calclips

Calclips 1/2 ton status

Swartz Creek, Michigan/Flint while in school
    Pull the vac hose off the modulator and if tranny fluid comes out, replace it because its bad. If no tranny fluid comes out it is probably good, but they're only like 10-15 bucks. fire up the motor and check for vac down at the modulator too

6. AzzKicker

AzzKicker 1/2 ton status

Hmmm well when i pulled off hose, no fluid came out. I'll check the vac later today.

7. dyeager535

dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

You should have vacuum at the modulator with the vehicle idling. I *believe* all TH400's used straight manifold vacuum, no "ported" setups.

8. Blue85