Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

MY TRUCK KICKS A$$ AGAIN!

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by bigoltrux77, Aug 27, 2002.

1. bigoltrux77

bigoltrux77 1/2 ton status

for the past 2 months not i have been complaining about how my truck has no power,gets bad gas mileage, idles like crap etc. Well I finally found my problem. To start, the rotor was pointing 180 degrees off on TDC instead of at # 1 plug. Then i took off the valve covers and two rocker arms were just lieing there in the head bay. WTF! Im a beginner (17 years old with no help from parents) so im proud. After i fixed it and bolted the valve covers back on i broke one of the covers at the hole. Well i welded the piece back with the JB weld stuff and there are no more leaks. Now it runs like a champ. Its never run like this before. the only thing wrong is i got oil spilled all over a header so it smokes like a frieght train. anyone know how get the oil off? what chemicals can i use?

2. UseYourBlinker

UseYourBlinker 1 ton status

Oil will burn right off... /forums/images/icons/tongue.gif

3. bryguy00b

bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

good job...i to am a begginer in this stuff..(im 16)..and me and my dad have so far put a tranny/moter/t-case/drivesahfts...the works into my 84 k5..that i got for 75 bucks..that was missing all this..which i got from one i bought befor it. next ill be doing my whole floor...little nervuos but cant wait either..the experience that ive gained from all this is unreplacable!!..and its a pain in the ass sometimes and then its great to...keep with it and later ull be turnin wrenches left and right!

Bryan

4. MudbogAD

MudbogAD 1/2 ton status