Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

My twin stick awnser!

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Wally81k5, Mar 19, 2003.

  1. Wally81k5

    Wally81k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Posts:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cold Lake Alberta
    [​IMG]


    This is the bushing i made to hold the two shifters! Man does it ever look good (on thumpers old 205 on the garage floor). All the shifters are made, just have to get the 205 this weekend and grind the shift rail.

    Anyone ground theres here? Just looking for some pointers..

    Ryan

    the throu hole should be in dashs and the ends closed, for those who like a proper tech drawing.
     
  2. DukeBoy88

    DukeBoy88 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Posts:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jonestown Pa
    I'm in the middle of a 205 rebuild. I just ground my rail down a couple days ago using a scan of a fourwheeler article someone posted. can't tell you if I did it right, don't have it back together yet. The amount they showed to grind away and the amount they actually did grind appeared different in the photos in the article. other than that it was pretty easy. I took the idea from someone on this site to thread the knockout holes for the shift rail pins and use stainless plugs instead. post some pictures of your shifter when you get a chance, I need to fab that next.
     
  3. 70~K5

    70~K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,032
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sillycon valley
    DukeBoy88 before you install your TC you can bench test it by shifting it in the various gears and see if it works by holding the imput shaft and trying to turn the output shafts. Hate to see you get all back in and find it needs to be ground some more.
     
  4. XtrmChevy

    XtrmChevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2001
    Posts:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Finland, Europe
    Maybe I ground too much because I was able to put it in low front and hi rear at the same time. Had to put the flatiron (modified) back between the rails to avoid damage.
     
  5. 70~K5

    70~K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,032
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sillycon valley
    [ QUOTE ]
    Maybe I ground too much because I was able to put it in low front and hi rear at the same time. Had to put the flatiron (modified) back between the rails to avoid damage.

    [/ QUOTE ]
    As long as you don't do this and try and put power to the box you'd be fine. And for theft protection could you see some one trying to drive away in it when they were like that, front axle low range/ rear axle high range. Wouldn't get to far for sure. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  6. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    [ QUOTE ]
    Maybe I ground too much because I was able to put it in low front and hi rear at the same time. Had to put the flatiron (modified) back between the rails to avoid damage.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    That's exactly what all the instruction I hace read warn you about.
    I believe you could lay on some welds and regrind to fix that problem.
     
  7. Wally81k5

    Wally81k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Posts:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cold Lake Alberta
    okay... how much is tooo much. I have heard the detents should be extened by 7/16 each, hard slope on the end one and gentle in the inner one...

    any conformations on this info? I dun wanna screw dis up..



    Ryan
     
  8. BadDog

    BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    Posts:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Scans from a Peterson's artical I put on my site a long time ago...
    Page 1 Page 2
     
  9. Thumper

    Thumper 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,582
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alberta Canada
    Can those shift rails that need ground be removed with the case in the truck? Or will have to be removed from the truck to happen?

    Mike
     
  10. Wally81k5

    Wally81k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Posts:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cold Lake Alberta
    Hey mike, where you have a boy lift you may be able to do it. There are no real big tools needed to get that pin out.

    We should try it in the truck anyways. Might be less work though to just drop it. Lemme get the sticks done and we'll do er up..

    oh yeah driveline brake mike?! Simple man...


    Ryan
     
  11. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Well all the instructions I have read say, it varies from Tcase to T csae so go in small increments and try, untill it works.
    /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif
     

Share This Page