Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

need 205 help

Discussion in 'OffRoad Design' started by sapper, Nov 10, 2001.

  1. sapper

    sapper 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Posts:
    3,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVa
    what do i need to put a 205 behind a 700r4? the 205 i found is from a 80 with a th350 so from what i understand the spline count will be the same and the adaptor is what i will need. is it as simple as pull one off and bolt up the other one or do i need to find some things? Thanks

    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradoK5.com/gallery/Pauls89K5>http://coloradoK5.com/gallery/Pauls89K5</a>
     
  2. offroadbarn

    offroadbarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Posts:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Elgin, TX
    Look at this post....

    http://coloradok5.com/forums/showfl...lapsed&amp;sb=5&amp;o=0&amp;part=1#Post259689

    I put a 205 behind a 700 by changing the output shaft of the transmission. The new shaft is shorter, and makes the back of the 700 look just like a 350. If your tranny isn't due for a rebuild (the output shaft is the LAST piece to come out, so you might as well rebuild it at the same time) you can just get an 'adapter' from advanced adapters, which is just a 'spacer' plate that bolts to the back of the tranny, in turn, making the tranny longer, and the shaft shorter. Hope that helps. And don't forget about the crossmember.... Did I mention drilling through the frame is a PITA!!!! &lt;img src="http://coloradok5.com/forums/images/icons/smile.gif"&gt;.

    Jeff Knowlton
    (512) 636-6003
    offroadbarn@yahoo.com<P ID="edit"><FONT class="small">Edited by offroadbarn on 11/12/01 03:53 PM.</FONT></P>
     
  3. Stephen

    Stephen 1/2 ton status Moderator Vendor

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Posts:
    4,227
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Carbondale Colorado
    That's pretty much it! We carry the shaft, and it is a pain to install, but you don't have to take apart all the major clutchpacks, you just remove them and then put them back in. Probably only 3-4hours for a trans shop, maybe a short day for a good enthusiast with a couple of books.

    Making the world better, one truck at a time.
    SW-ORD
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.offroaddesign.com>www.offroaddesign.com</a>
     
  4. sapper

    sapper 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Posts:
    3,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVa
    thanks i was planning on putting it in with a new tranny prolly just grab the adaptor. great info!!

    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradoK5.com/gallery/Pauls89K5>http://coloradoK5.com/gallery/Pauls89K5</a>
     
  5. jmeador74

    jmeador74 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
    Posts:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Eatontown, NJ
    Stephan...

    I was wondering how much you guys charge for both the shorter shaft for the tranny and the spacer... I am figuring out cost effectivesness....
    Does the spacer... hurt or weaken the driveline at all by putting it in...?

    Last question...

    I am swapping from 465 to 700r4... if I get the short shaft will I be able to maintain stock mounting locations or is the 700r4 still too long? and if I use the spacer it would just be that much longer, right?

    72 Chevy Blazer, 327, SM-465, NP 205, 4in lift, 35 in tires
    About to put in 400sbc, 700-R4
     
  6. Stephen

    Stephen 1/2 ton status Moderator Vendor

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Posts:
    4,227
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Carbondale Colorado
    I don't have a price for the spacer, but the shaft is $160, and you have to have it installed. The spacer should price around $60 or so I would guess. I'd be surprised if it was over $100.
    I don't like the idea of adding more parts into the drivetrain than you need to, but I'm sure it won't fall out of the truck! You will also pick up a little length, which isn't that great a thing in a K5, but again, it's not a huge deal. I would prefer the shaft, that's what I've always run, but I don't think you're going to hurt it by running the spacer.
    No matter what you're going to have to re-do the shafts and the mounting locations. One thing you might look into is moving the motor forward, I know early trucks have a couple sets of holes for the motor mounts so you might be able to keep it all close by moving the entire drivetrain up.
    Hope this helps.

    Making the world better, one truck at a time.
    SW-ORD
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.offroaddesign.com>www.offroaddesign.com</a>
     

Share This Page