Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Need 7 inch slip for front shaft

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by garlicbreath, Aug 16, 2006.

  1. garlicbreath

    garlicbreath 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Posts:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver
    I went to rausch creek this weekend and after doing my 52's, crossover, and furd towers on the 71, I pulled the front shaft apart twice. It is 27 inches collapsed and 32 extended, thats the measurements from yoke to yoke. I am running one tons and a 205 with cv's front and rear. My local driveline guy found a male slip with about 5 inches of splines, from a carrier bearing shaft but it won't leave enough splines engaged at full droop to survive a 400hp hillclimb. Thats when it tacoed beyond repair sunday, on that last bounce at the top where both front tires are off the ground and the full weight of the tires and axle pulls the driveline to it's max.

    Articulated it's just fine.

    I could put in a limiting strap, but where's the fun in that?

    Maybe one right in the center would work, but not limit articulation too much.
     
  2. Citizen Rider

    Citizen Rider 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Posts:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, Texas
    Square shaft??? 12"+ of slip
     
  3. garlicbreath

    garlicbreath 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Posts:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver
    I don't like the idea of running a square shaft on the street just yet.
     
  4. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    you running flanges??
     
  5. garlicbreath

    garlicbreath 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Posts:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver
    No flanges. Haven't converted to that. It has the standard CV at the case, and the slip at the D60
     
  6. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    The why are you worried about it on the road?? Unlock the hubs and stick it in 2wd.
     
  7. Citizen Rider

    Citizen Rider 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Posts:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, Texas
    Wont be using the front shaft in 2wd :D
     

Share This Page