Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Need a air tank

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Loose Nut, Jul 8, 2006.

  1. Loose Nut

    Loose Nut Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Posts:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Got a yorker and need some tankage. any decent place's to get used or new ones?
     
  2. supersize75k5

    supersize75k5 OrganDonorRacing.com

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Posts:
    8,832
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    gilbert az
    I got a couple from a big rig salvage yard 10 and 15 bucks each
     
  3. dremu

    dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    15,954
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    East of San Francisco
    Used, you can often find broken air compressors at yard sales, Craigslist, etc.

    New, $30 for a 5-gallon is about what you pay -- Sears, auto parts places, Harbor Freight.

    -- A
     
  4. diesel4me

    diesel4me 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Posts:
    17,540
    Likes Received:
    935
    Location:
    Massachussetts
    cheep..

    You can buy one of those portable air tanks from Wal-Mart or other stores for about 25 bucks here,less when they are on sale..the semi-truck ones are smaller and easier to "hide" though..

    I've used gas grill propane tanks with the air hose conversion kit you can buy at most hardware stores for 10 bucks...you can likely get an "outdated" propane tank free at most any landfill..ours is always overflowing with them,they recently passed a new law requiring them to have new updated valves in them,so thousands of perfectly good tanks had to be tossed out..:crazy:
     
  5. steve_kibbe

    steve_kibbe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Posts:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Spartanburg, SC
    I have a set from a broken compressor. Now I need the york:D
     
  6. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
  7. cbbr

    cbbr 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    14,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    High velocity, Low altitude
    I used the tank and pressure switch from an old junk compressor.
     
  8. cybrfire

    cybrfire 1 ton status Vendor GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Posts:
    15,139
    Likes Received:
    565
    Location:
    Iowa
    I think there is a real small 110 v. air compressor, blue in color, runs about 75 bucks everytime I see it. It's worth it for the pressure switch, pop off valve, air tank and regulator. I don't think you can buy all those pieces individually for that price. Throw in a seperator and your done. Otherwise I'd hit up the Jyard for a truck tanks. Lots of ports.
     
  9. 73k5blazer

    73k5blazer Unplug the matrix cable from the back of your head Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,987
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    The Rustbelt
    Here's the air tank I got.
    Clicky
    Great tank, it's an OTR air brake system tank, electrocoated inside and out, then expoxy coated inside.
    Way better then those chepo ones you see around like on eBay.
    Here's a pic of it mounted up, I made my own custom brackets for it:
    [​IMG]
     
  10. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,169
    Likes Received:
    1,372
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    Did you hard mount that tank? Those tanks are good but are suceptible to cracking when hard mounted...

    Rene
     
  11. 73k5blazer

    73k5blazer Unplug the matrix cable from the back of your head Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Posts:
    4,987
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    The Rustbelt
    It's mounted on 3/4" thick rubber isolators, as recommended in the specification sheet.
     

Share This Page