Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Need A/C help/advise for my 94 Tahoe

Discussion in 'Rocky Mountain Region' started by marv_springer, Sep 20, 2004.

  1. marv_springer

    marv_springer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2001
    Posts:
    2,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa, Arizona
    Ok... here's the deal:

    Changing valve cover gaskets on my Tahoe this weekend, and I guess the hi pressure hose going from the compressor to the condensor has been rubbin' up against the battery tray like Jenna Jameson rubbin' a ..... er .... well - anyway,

    I lean against it and - ppfffftttt!... there goes all my R12 freon... /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif

    So, I wanna replace the hose, compressor, dryer, and go w/ R134. Who knows how to do this? what's the best way? ....or has some advice?!?!?

    /forums/images/graemlins/ears.gif

    Marv
     
  2. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Leave it r-12 and I can work something out on bringing home some r414a from work , which will drop right in , and keeps my tan 83 ice cold /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  3. mosesburb

    mosesburb For Rent Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Posts:
    2,175
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Ummm, yer '94 should have 134A in it already.......'93 was the last year GM put R12 in their trucks.

    I can hook you up either way /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif.
     
  4. marv_springer

    marv_springer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2001
    Posts:
    2,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa, Arizona
    [ QUOTE ]
    '93 was the last year GM put R12 in their trucks.


    [/ QUOTE ]

    Really..... /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif

    Pretty sure this one is original.... and I'm sure that R12 is in it, cuz I had it charged at a buddy's shop a few years ago and watched him do it...

    So... if it IS R12, and I wanna convert to R134... any complications if I change the components that I described? Is the compressor any different for R134? Anybody got a line on a good price for a rebuilt?

    Funny..... I used to charge A/C systems back in the 80's. But it was different then /forums/images/graemlins/screwy.gif - freon was plentiful & cheap - hell, I used to chase the cockroaches around the gas station w/ it and freeze 'em... /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif

    But now it's all different and I feel so dumb. /forums/images/graemlins/doah.gif

    Oh... and what the hell is R414... /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif

    Marv
     
  5. mosesburb

    mosesburb For Rent Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Posts:
    2,175
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Not tough to convert if necessary. Do the charge fittings have external threads or are they quick disconnect style??

    Do NOT(!!) even think about a reman compressor unless you really like A/C problems. New compressors are close enough in price to not make reman worth the chances (might get a good one, but probably won't).
     
  6. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    [ QUOTE ]
    Oh... and what the hell is R414..

    [/ QUOTE ]

    It is "Hotshot" and I sell it to appliance techs to recharge 'fridges . It will work in r12 and r 134a systems . In r-12 systems you use 80 percent of the original r12 amount ( say if its 10 oz you use 8 oz instead ) . Nine dollars a can , I have a tap to go from the can to my r12 gauges , and I use my friends account to buy it /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  7. teamhickman

    teamhickman 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Posts:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Buckeye, AZ.
  8. marv_springer

    marv_springer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2001
    Posts:
    2,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa, Arizona
    [ QUOTE ]
    Ummm, yer '94 should have 134A in it already.......'93 was the last year GM put R12 in their trucks.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    UPDATE!.... Ok... Nick's right! I'm a bonehead! /forums/images/graemlins/doah.gif

    It's R134. /forums/images/graemlins/ignore.gif

    Marv
     
  9. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Ok , so if you are 134a , just go to Autozone and buy 2 cans with the hose preattached , then fill . I CHEATED ( and it worked ) on my wifes old Sentra ( 1997 ) and filled it until it blew cold /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  10. mosesburb

    mosesburb For Rent Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Posts:
    2,175
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    How do you get the air out of the system doing it that way??
     
  11. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    [ QUOTE ]
    How do you get the air out of the system doing it that way??

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I didn't worry about it on my wife's old Sentra , I hated that car . I only charged it because she complained . When I had to replace the engine , the dumbasses who did it released the freon and didn't tell us . I found it didn't matter though , didn't use anything but the freon cans and it was fine for over 2 years until I finally got her to let me trade it for a Chevy . I don't forsee a problem just sticking some r134a in there , but if you have a pump do Marv up /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif

    BTW , I sell the units , but they are pricey and I am poor , so thats another reason for not using a pump /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  12. mosesburb

    mosesburb For Rent Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Posts:
    2,175
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    You need to be real careful doing that because 134A when mixed with oxygen becomes a combustible mixture when pressurized. Evacuation of the system is a must-do.
    Good A/C shops will pressure test systems with nitrogen to get away from putting shop air in the lines to check for leaks on an empty system.
     
  13. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Agreed /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif I do however notice too many people buying the stuff at Autozone just sticking it in . /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif ( being lighthearted , I would do it right if I could , but my "Hobbies" cost /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif )
     

Share This Page