Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Need a Good 4x4 Shop Near Lynchbyrg VA to Re-Gear Cheap!!!

Discussion in 'Mid-Atlantic Region' started by 350350, Oct 17, 2004.

1. 350350

350350 1/2 ton status

Hey Guys!

I'm new to Lynchburg, VA, and need to get my truck regeared. Badly. It's got 33's and 2.73 gears!!! I want to go to 4.11's or 5.13's in anticipation of at least 35's in the near future.

I don't get to 'wheel as much as I used to and it will be a year or two before I get to, so I figure my 10-bolt/12-bolt setup in my '77 K5 will hold up to 35's with 5.13's with a rear locker for mostly winter driving and probably 2 trail rides per year max.

When I get back into wheeling more often and more serious (I'll be taking my 4 year old son with me so I won't be so radical when I go like I used to be...) about the fun I'll go to full 1-ton running gear...

Anyway, can anyone point me toward a reputable 4x4 shop that can regear for me and toss out rough price estimates? If it gets too expensive I may just spend some extra cash and go ahead with the 1-ton gear now...

Cheers,
    Paul

2. MudFrog

MudFrog 1/2 ton status

Paul, I don't know of anyone in Lynchburg for gearing but I know a couple people here in Roanoke. The best I have found charges $125 an axle for labor, which is really good in this area. It is a shop called Front Page Automotive, might want to give him a shout if you can't find anyone local.

3. daleearnhardt01

daleearnhardt01 1/2 ton status

If you havent purchased the gears yet when you do I suggest getting them from DC4WD. Scott knows the guy and me along with a bunch of us in the 4x4 club use him. He's a great guy to deal with. DC

4. 350350

350350 1/2 ton status