Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Need a program to delete programs...

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by ChevyCaGal, Nov 2, 2002.

  1. ChevyCaGal

    ChevyCaGal 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Posts:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA USA
    I have some crap on my computer system that I have uninstalled and want to delete. Everytime I go to get rid of it some gay little box pops up and says I can't. I'm like you know what I want too and it's not something I use so you piece of @#$% let me! But of course it won't. I used to have a program that would get rid of crap even when the puter would play the I won't delete it game. However I cannot find anything I like now.... so what a good program to use? Ideally one that is not very expensive either. Thanks... oh yeah XP sucks fat hairy @$$.... even the blue screen of death on 98 was better then this piece of crap.... /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif /forums/images/graemlins/crazy.gif
     
  2. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    Fdisk. For very very complete removal...


    Seriously, I'm drawing a blank at the moment. If you can, disable everything in startup, reboot adn try to delete again. The computer could stil be using what you're trying to delete, therefore not allowing you to nuke it.
     
  3. ChevyCaGal

    ChevyCaGal 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Posts:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA USA
    Yup that is what it says. It's in use and won't let me delete it. I never had problems like this until now. I absolutely hate XP with a passion. I dunno how to do fdisk with it. And I tried to just start over 100% new and wipe my system clean.... it won't let me. I'm about ready to call Gateway and tell them their computer sucks and I am bringing it back with a bomb straped to it as pay back for selling such a huge hunk of crap.... /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif
     
  4. uglychevyZZ4

    uglychevyZZ4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Posts:
    6,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Black Diamond, Wa
    Do what I do, I had to do this to KILL that fawkin little purple monkey, SICK your anti virus on it, go into the quarentine section and it will let you browse for a file you want /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gifNORTON works hella easy /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif
     
  5. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    I got a box that pops up whenever it wants. Some mini-dialer (Connect To) that I can't get ride of. I can't find it in Add/Delete programs, and it's not in the start up menu. The dame thing is really pissing me off. I don't know where the hell it came from. It just started appearing about 2 weeks ago. I don't even use a dail up , but it wants to. Anyone have any idea how to get rid of the damn thing ???? I use Windows ME. /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     
  6. uglychevyZZ4

    uglychevyZZ4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Posts:
    6,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Black Diamond, Wa
    HA HA HA BU HA WA AH A , THATS FROM A YOU TRYIN TO GET FREE PORN /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif what that is is a dialer that goes over web and can get you porn without having long distance, you better kill it dude! youll be gettin bills /forums/images/graemlins/deal.gif
     
  7. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    But I've never tried to get free porn. I'm just not into jacking off. Altho, a friend does use my computer, so it's possible.
     
  8. gotmud?

    gotmud? 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Posts:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    up north
    I did a clean install of xp a year ago and have'nt had 1 crash since, love it, what's the prob? do you have your system set to boot from cd when you try to reformat? if not,do so and try that.
     
  9. Chris87K5

    Chris87K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Posts:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsyltucky
    I use Norton Cleansweep. It works really good, cleans up the registry too.
    You can even get it for free from kazaalite /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  10. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    Hey Z3PR, in internet explorer, go to "tools" then "options". Then click the "Connections" tab, and make sure you have "Never dial a connection" selected. If not, select it and I bet your trouble goes away.
     
  11. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    I don't even have internet explorer installed in this computer anymore. I took it out a long time ago. Will I have to install it to get rid af that damn mini dialer crap ????
     
  12. Tweetysuarus

    Tweetysuarus 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Posts:
    2,294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lynnhood,WA
    /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gifPORN SITE!
    Bill
     
  13. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Could be, my friend Steve who uses my computer is a perv., so it could be. I just can't find a way too get rid of that fawkin Mini-Dialer (connect to) pop up box thingie. /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     
  14. gotmud?

    gotmud? 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Posts:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    up north
    Paul, go to control panel and see if you've got an icon called "internet options" if you do, open it and click the "connection's" tab and check "never dial a connection"
     
  15. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    I checked that. It's set for never dial a connection. Hell that damn mini-dialer popped up when I was checking it. Still can't get rid of the damn thing.
     
  16. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    You might want to try booting into safe mode and then perform an uninstall. When the computer first turns on, start tapping the F8 key and a menu should appear. Select "Safe Mode" and let the computer come up. The screen will look funny as it only loads in a generic video driver. Then try to uninstall the program. If it still will not uninstall you will need to go into the registry and disable the program from running and then uninstall it. You do this by going to "Start">"Run". Type "regedit" and ok. A window will appear. Click on the "+" sign next to: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE, SOFTWARE, Microsoft, Windows, CurrentVersion. Then click on "Run". On the right hand side will be a list of all the stuff that will run on a windows boot. See if you can find your program and then delete that line. Exit all and reboot and then try to do an uninstall. Good luck.
     
  17. ChevyCaGal

    ChevyCaGal 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Posts:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA USA
    Yeah I did that.... dunno wtf is up with it. I think I might have gotten XP with some bugs. This is not the first time it's done stuff. I had to take it to Gateway once for a few days when all the drivers stopped working. Never did figure out what that was but they solved it for free. Must not have been my fault if they didn't make me pay... anyhow it seems to be working ok now.... but who knows what tomorrow will bring.... /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif /forums/images/graemlins/crazy.gif
     
  18. Sandman

    Sandman 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    5,653
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pocatello, ID
    Good deal. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     

Share This Page