Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

need a shop recommendation

Discussion in 'Pacific Region' started by MJF, Sep 24, 2002.

1. MJF

MJF 1/2 ton status

Can anyone recommend a good but cheap place to get the front end rebuilt & aligned for my 70 4X4 truck? I have all the parts, but don't want to chance doing the work myself since I've never done it before. Plus I don't have all the tools. I was gonna rent them & do it myself, buit this is a repair that you find out at 70mph(after crashing your truck) that you did something wrong.

Thanks
    Mike

2. Shaggy

Shaggy 3/4 ton status

<font color="green"> A front end rebuild on a solid axle really is a simple deal. I can't recommend any shops, only because there are no shops that I would trust to work on my junk anymore. I've been screwed too many times in the past. There are two places that I will still let do work for me, one is for driveshafts, the other is trannys. Sorry I wasn't any help, but you really should consider doing the work yourself, it's hard to screw up if you follow the directions in a service manual, and you always have CK5 to ask questions! </font color>

3. ChevyCaGal

ChevyCaGal 3/4 ton status

In Sacramento I can recommend Rosemont Automotive.... they are wheelers there. Just found out about them and man am I impressed and going to be using them now for everything I cannot do... /forums/images/icons/smile.gif

4. Zeus33rd

Zeus33rd Smarter than you GMOTM Winner

WHat I do when it's rebuild time is buy all the stuff.....Ball joints, tie rod ends ect ect....Install everything myself...then drive to town and get it aligned. They'll fix anythng you did wrong and make it right. ALOT cheaper that way. /forums/images/icons/smile.gif

5. Gold Rush

Gold Rush 1/2 ton status