Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Need a tip- rear passenger-side glow plug removal

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by Can Can, Mar 2, 2004.

  1. Can Can

    Can Can Pusher Man Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    15,555
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Cochrane, Alberta, Canada
    I got my new "Quick Heat" glow plugs from Kennedy Diesel today. I braved the -10' Celcius weather after work and got them all installed except for the rear passenger-side GP.

    There's about 2" of room between the block and the heater core box and it's next to impossible for me to get my arm down there and see what I'm doing at the same time. It looks like I *may* be able to get at the sucker from underneath but I was too cold by the time I got to it- the snow under my truck didn't look that inviting, either....... /forums/images/graemlins/deal.gif

    So give me some tips on getting that GP out, brothers!!!! /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  2. fbronson

    fbronson 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Posts:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    If it's -10 C, at least your not lying in mud! /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif If you've got the blade style GP wires, you can break the blade off of the old GP to get a little more room to get it out. I was able to get mine out without going under the truck, but I had to use a small (6" or 15cm) socket wrench and I remember having to twist my arm around some stuff to get down there. By breaking the blade off, you should be able to get at it with a regular depth socket. Hope that helps. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  3. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,188
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    Damn AC box... /forums/images/graemlins/histerical.gif

    FWIW all my GP's are easy to get to with the non AC box. /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif

    Does it start easier with the 7 new GP's?

    Rene
     
  4. Can Can

    Can Can Pusher Man Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    15,555
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Cochrane, Alberta, Canada
    Thanks for the tip, Fred. /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif I may just end up doing as you suggest.

    Rene- Laugh it up, skinny boy....... /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif The funny part is, my AC setup isn't even operational right now. Talk about adding insult to injury, eh? /forums/images/graemlins/crazy.gif
     
  5. savagek5diesel

    savagek5diesel 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Posts:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Redding California
    I have AC in my 83 6.2 and i didn't have much trouble getting to it. I used a 1/4 ratchet, 2" extension and whatever the socket size was. The only trouble i had was getting the new GP in the tiny hole that you can't see. Good luck.
     
  6. joez

    joez 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    2,512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Lenox, Illinois
    Just lay underneath it, you can reach right up and have tons of room to get at it, its just a little hard to see when you put the new plug in.
     

Share This Page