Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Need a walkthrough for tranny swappage... **UPDATE**

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by PhoenixZorn, May 26, 2005.

1. PhoenixZorn

PhoenixZorn 1/2 ton status

I'm doing a tranny swap tomorrown on the Blazer I'm picking up... Removing the TH400 and T-Case, and replacing it with the TH350 and T-Case... I think both T-Cases are NP208s, but I'm not positive... I think I've read that spline counts for both trannys are the same, but as the TH350 already has a T-Case attached, that won't be so much of a problem right? I am guessing that the Driveshaft has a 1310 joint, as it is a 10 bolt axle, and that the T-case will match up perfectly, and I won't have to "Machine" or buy any extra parts...

I need a quick rundown of the swap, as I've never done one before, but I'll have a full shop to work in, thanks to MISFIT014x4. At a certain point he'll be helping me, but until then, I'll be pretty much on my own, with a little help from my Dad. I also need a list of parts that will likely need to be replaced due to normal wear and tear (and standard replacement due to a swap of this nature.) Thanks in advance guys...

Last edited: May 31, 2005
  2. Chaddy

Chaddy 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

trans

if you already have a 400 then your set!! thats 1 of the best tranny's in the world and i would never swapp it for a turbo 350 regardless of T-case

3. PhoenixZorn

The 400 only drives in reverse.... when it has fluid in it... and that leaks out in a few minutes... I'm doing the 350 swap because it was all I could find on short notice.... Unless someone in Wisconsin has a 400 they'd like to deliver to me like right now, I'm going to have to go with the 350

4. az ranger

az ranger 1/2 ton status