Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Need advice/info on trailer brakes and controllers

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by guido666, Dec 31, 2005.

1. guido666

guido666 1/2 ton status

I need to get a trailer to tow my rig. And I want to get one with brakes. I understand the brakes are electric on most of them and that you have to get an electronic controller to actuate them.

Now, I'M NO IDIOT, so I don't need any info telling me stuff like "brakes are what stop the trailer" or other total newbie stuff. What I want to know is how do these electric systems work? Are they proportional or are they just on/off? How do the controllers work? What is required to install them (do they just hook to the brake pedal switch or something)?

Lastly, if anyone could suggest a decent controller, list why, and give me an idea of how much I'm going to pay, I'd appreciate it. I've just never had the opportunity to see any of this stuff to examine it in person, so I'm going to be buying it blind.:rolleyes:

2. perp

perp 1/2 ton status

I run the Teknosha (sp?) Prodigy controller in both of my trucks and have been real happy with them. costs around $140 iirc, which is more than some others but you do get what you pay for and loose your breaks and you'll think $140 is REAL cheap. they are proportional (inertial/pendulum controled) and you can set the level of power to adjust for different weigh loads. easy to install and easy to use, especially with a never truck as they just plug in under the dash (no cut and splice mess). stay away from the hydraulic ones, a real pain in the ass if they leak fluid in the cab and they are a bitch to plumb in too. BTW, get a trailer with breaks on both axles if it is in your budget, your truck breaks will last forever.