Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

need advise on how to alter intake

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by solowookie, Aug 26, 2001.

  1. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    OK, I got the new intake from GM Performance that works with the Vortec heads and TBI, but the problem is I have a 454 TBI. I need to bore the holes out in the top of the intake to make them larger.

    now I took a dremel after this thing, but one of the problems with the dremel is that it is too slow. also the dremel grinding pads is a little to small, and it is REALLY easy to slip and then it puts a small gauge in the top of the thing. this thing is eating up my grinding disk at a pretty good rate on top of that too.

    I'm wondering what the recommendations are on getting this thing fixed up (grinding out the top of the holes).

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff</a>
     
  2. Itali83

    Itali83 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2001
    Posts:
    795
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Westbrook Maine
    We use a die grinder. It spins at about 30,000 RPM. You can get any kind of wheel you want for it. It is a bad boy dremel. But they are also like 200 bucks for a really good one. but that would do the trick for you in no time.
    Ben 87 Jimmy
    <font color=blue>Rust=Bad</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.bens87toy.alloffroad.com>www.bens87toy.alloffroad.com</a>
     
  3. pcorssmit

    pcorssmit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Posts:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Never done an intake, but I've had good luck with the steel die grinder bits with the (diamond ?) teeth. They're a bit on the pricey side, but last quite a while. My die grinder is kind of a POS, I've also had good luck chucking them up in the drill press. Only problem with that is that its easy to break off the 1/4" shank if you get carried away (1 hp drill press, 3600 rpm). Die grinders spin a lot faster w/no load, but bog down considerably.

    Pete

    '83 K5, 350 TBI (ex 6.2), 700R4, NP208, Dana 60/14 bolt, 4.56s, Detroits, 3" lift, 15-39.5x15 TSLs
    '97 Dodge 2500 4x4 CC LB Sport, Cummins 5 spd
     
  4. wayne

    wayne 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Posts:
    6,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, Pa
    I would say take it to a machine shop and let them do it on a mill. It might cost a few bucks but the holes will be round and the same size.

    <font color=blue>Wayne<font color=blue>
    <font color=blue>Happy Trails<font color=blue>
     
  5. DesertDueler

    DesertDueler 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Posts:
    3,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    If you have an air compressor buy a die grinder. Works much faster and you can get bits for them to port things like intakes and heads. Be careful with these though on porting heads if you go to far you go into the water jacket.

    86 Jimmy 4"lift 35"MTRs locked front.Other cars 69 Firebird w/525 hp,and 70 GTO <a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/modifierperformance>MY vehicles</a>
     
  6. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,180
    Likes Received:
    1,388
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    Hell for wollering out some holes on an intake you don't need to break the bank on a very expensive die grinder. i got a little one for $30 that spins at 25,000 RPM. I use a carbide burr and its perfect for that sort of thing. There are different style burrs for steel and aluminum and a huge selction of shapes to choose from. Of course if you don't have a compressor none of this does you any good...[​IMG]

    Rene

    <font color=green>Dyslexics of the world...UNTIE!</font color=green>
     
  7. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    well looks like I'm going to be looking into a die grinder! I do have an air compressor so I'll have to see if I can find one that is halfway inexpensive.

    sounds just exactly like what I am looking for! thanks guys (I'd probably just take it to a machine shop except I don't have a vehicle I dare drive that far... [​IMG])

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff</a>
     
  8. Jason73K5

    Jason73K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fresno, Ca
    I found a pretty decent Chicago Pneumatic die grinder in the Sears catalog for about $69 and it works just as well as my $400 Dotco that I use at work. I'd stay away from the really cheap Harbor Freight specials though, they just don't last.

    73K-5: TBI350/TH-400/NP-203/14FF/D44
    Topless, doorless and no tailgate!
    Fresno, CA
     
  9. RESTORE89

    RESTORE89 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Posts:
    548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CHAS SC
    told you you would be getting some air tools!!! [​IMG] [​IMG]
    a cheap die grinder is the way to go, UNLESS
    do you have a router?
    the bits used for a die grinder will chuck right into a grinder
    good luck

    It needs a bigger motor.
    what's in it now?
    doen't matter it NEEDS A BIGGER MOTOR
    89 350tbi/700r4h/np208/4.11's
     
  10. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    now you tell me... I already bought a die grinder (cost me whole whopping 20 bucks), but my father is a carpenter. I got 2 routers sitting withing 50 yards of me... [​IMG]

    I got some cool air tools anyway! I've got a air ratchet I've been using, but no impact gun yet. (and yea, I really like it...)

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff</a>
     
  11. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    let me tell ya what guys, I bought that $20 die grinder from Autozone... HUGH difference over the dremel!

    anyway I actually scar'd the top of it because the dremel was hard to use etc. not only was the die grinder a LOT faster, but it is extremely easy to control. only problem is I need an air compressor with a bigger tank &amp; more HP. even in light of that it is still a much better option.

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff</a>
     

Share This Page