Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Need Audio Guru's Help plz!

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by RustBuket, Oct 1, 2004.

1. RustBuket

RustBuket 1/2 ton status

Need Audio Guru\'s Help plz!

I know its not the audio forum but I'm a Noob so take it easy on me.

Anyways, I recently bought this MA Audio 1600W 2 channel amp and a Visonik 15" 1400W sub. They sub has dual 6 ohm voice coils so I wanted to run them in paralell for a total load of 3ohm on the amp. The guy said the amp is 2 ohm stereo stable so its OK. Well I was reading the manual today and it said its 2 ohm stable but not in x-over mode. When you cross over it says the minimum load is 4ohm. So would I really blow up the amp if I ran it with a 3 ohm load? I really don't want to run dual 6 ohm load on each channel cause I won't get nearly as much power as I could (and thats the whole reason I bought the amp+sub!!!) What do you think??? Plz help audio gurus! /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif

2. cybrfire

cybrfire 1 ton status Vendor GMOTM Winner

Re: Need Audio Guru\'s Help plz!

Wow, you lost me. Then i'm not very knowledgable about such things. I'm sure somebody on here can help you out. I have yet to own anything with a decent system.

3. 84_Chevy_K10

84_Chevy_K10 Banned

I think that if the amp is only 4 ohm stable you will likely destroy it with a 3 ohm load. It will get very hot.

You can try it but I can't think of any better way to fry an amp than to apply it to a load with insufficient impedence.

4. GORRILLA

GORRILLA 1/2 ton status

My electronics is a little rusty, but in a parralell-series
    circuit, if you add a resistor in series after the sub, and it is the right resistance and wattage, you should come up with 4 ohms.
    And,
    yes, it will take out your amp and possibly your sub.

5. RustBuket