Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

need help 84 Blazer 1/4" - 1/2" Gap between torque converter & flexplate

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by nvfire, Feb 21, 2006.

  1. nvfire

    nvfire Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hawthorne, NV
    I have a 1/4 -1/2 in. gap between the torque converter and flex plate. I had to replace my engine. When I pulled the old engine out and put the other engine in the gap was there. I need to know if I should pull the torque converter up to the flex plate or is there something wrong?:confused:
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2006
  2. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    that is normal, you want to have to pull the converter to the flexplate. otherwords the converter is bottomed out on something and won't work correctly.
     
  3. y5mgisi

    y5mgisi 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Posts:
    17,156
    Likes Received:
    247
    Location:
    Portland Oregon
    Yep what big83chevy said. Thats 100% normal. Jost bolt it up and go.
     
  4. nvfire

    nvfire Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hawthorne, NV
    thanks I will have to do that....
     

Share This Page