Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Need help building a computer tower

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by outlaw612, Nov 14, 2004.

1. outlaw612

outlaw612 1/2 ton status

My mom is wanting a computer at her house for my son to play games on. Im thinking it will probably be cheaper to build a good gaming system than to try to by a new one. No internet use, no document or any other program use, just games. I need to build it as cheep as possible.

Can someone give me some ideas on what needs to go into something like this? Could anyone out there possibly build something like this or mybe just have some of the parts?

2. ryoken

ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

i'm no expert but i would definitely go with an AMD system.. much more gaming bang for the buck... if your looking for parts, newegg.com is one of the best...

3. sled_dog

sled_dog 1 ton status

I don't even bother price searching anymore, Newegg has the best deals.

I just ordered new parts for my PC from Newegg. ASUS A7V600-X, 1gb of ram(modern games eat this up), soon to be a 2400+ Mobile Amd XP, and soon a Radeon X800 XT likely. Video card is what I mostly need but a video card with no computer backing is like puting a weiand 871 on a stock 350. Sure you will make more power but if you tweak that motor you will make TONs more.

4. TX Mudder

TX Mudder 1/2 ton status

Need more information.

What is is your budget?

What type of games are you wanting to be able to play? Tetris takes a lot less computer than Grand Theft Auto.

Depending in your familiarity with building computers, it may be advisable to buy an e-machines computer for around $400. Since they use onboard video, you would probably still need to add a video card to it (maybe $100) but that would be it.

5. TX Mudder

TX Mudder 1/2 ton status