Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

need help... ecm removal

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by beastofablaze, Nov 21, 2005.

  1. beastofablaze

    beastofablaze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Posts:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    Where do i start?

    CAN SOMEBODY WALK ME THROUGH THIS?
     
  2. K5Steve

    K5Steve 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Posts:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carson city, nv.
    Year?On my 88 all you have to do is take the glove box off (4 screws)and there it is,just unbolt and pull.
     
  3. beastofablaze

    beastofablaze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Posts:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    Yup Its An 88... I Knew It Was Simple But I Figured It Would Be Better To Sacrifice A Little Pride Then Spend A Couple Hours Pulling Panels Off By Process Of Elimination.

    Thanks Man.
     
  4. Russell

    Russell LB7 Tahoe Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2000
    Posts:
    7,922
    Likes Received:
    333
    Location:
    Fort McMurray, Alberta
    Hey, while you have your glove box door off -- Can you snap me a picture or two of how the ECM is mounted?

    I want to move my TPI ECM over to the glove box side of things, and would be interested in seeing how the general installed the ECM from the factory :)
     
  5. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,976
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Do I dare ask why you are pulling it? :(

    Don't know as I have pictures, GM just uses a piece of beige or white plastic mounted to the underside of the cowl, one metal strap holding the ECM into the plastic piece.

    Most of the trucks '81+ have the metal mounting tabs in place already from what I've seen. All the 305's that vintage had ESC IIRC so they needed a mount, but the plastic piece is different. Mounting is the same. Any '81+ CCC truck or '87+ TBI will have the plastic piece you need. The ESC trucks are a crapshoot though for stock mounting points, I believe up to some point the ESC computer was mounted over near the gas pedal.

    The tabs are triangular shaped and tack welded to the body. PITA to add I'd think.
     
  6. beastofablaze

    beastofablaze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Posts:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    i have an 88 k5 blazer... with a 355. i thought it was 4 screws and out. I just need to pull the ecm to send it off to get my prominator setup :D :eek1: (yes i am another tbi guy trying pull off 350 hp with a 454 tbi on a 350 and some fuel pressure goodies).
     
  7. tunedportk5

    tunedportk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    371
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Union City, CA
    I have one when I did my TPI swap[​IMG]
     
  8. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,976
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Prominator? Oh, it's all good then. :D

    Have fun with it!
     
  9. beastofablaze

    beastofablaze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Posts:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    :waytogo:

    that shouldn't be a problem. :D
     

Share This Page