Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Need help - How to adjust the TPS on a Holley TBI for SBC

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Emmettology 101, Jul 1, 2003.

  1. Emmettology 101

    Emmettology 101 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Posts:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    Anyone know how? I haven't had much time to surf Holley's site today so I thought I would post this up here just in case I come up empty handed.

    Right now I have it set in the middle, but would liek to see if it is out of adjustment.

    Thanks!!!!!
     
  2. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    If it's hooked up to the stock GM ECM, then you need to adjust it to factory specs for the truck. The ECM doesn't know that you have a different TBI on there, so it's expecting the stock parameters. /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif
     
  3. 89K1500Chevy

    89K1500Chevy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Posts:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia, Fayetteville
    how much did you pay for that cuz im lookin at getting one of those or just going over to a 4bb. Id kinda like to keep the FI but this damn TBI has been one thing after another... Is it the 670 TBI om replacement one?
     
  4. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Some of the replacement Delco TPS' (and perhaps some stock ones) are adjustable by loosening the two screws that retain it, and just turning it. The stock ones I've seen do not have this feature.

    The non-adjustable ones, from what I can tell, are not adjustable. Perhaps you can get some adjustment through loosening the screws if there is a little play.

    '88 Camaro manual says hook up a scanner, check for idle TPS voltage over 2.5 volts at idle, plus or minus .08 volts. Voltage should increase at a steady rate when the throttle is increased. Should reach 5 volts at WOT. Voltage should go below .2 volts if it is disconnected.

    Says any voltage under .7 volts the ECM will auto-zero to 0% throttle.
     
  5. Emmettology 101

    Emmettology 101 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Posts:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    My buddy bought it a while back and we just stuck it on there. Not sure what they run. And yes, I believe it is the 670cfm with 2" bores...
     
  6. denver75k5

    denver75k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 15, 2001
    Posts:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere In The Woods
    Hook 2 wires to the Blue and black wires on the tps,
    (+) for blue
    (-) for black
    Hook a voltmeter to them
    plug in the TPS
    turn on the ingition key to on
    adjust TPS to 0.63-0.65 volts

    Atleast thats what the book sais..
     
  7. Emmettology 101

    Emmettology 101 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Posts:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    thanks!!!!


    So do you ground out the pins on the top right hand side of the diag plug to get codes?
     
  8. denver75k5

    denver75k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 15, 2001
    Posts:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere In The Woods
    Im not sure , you kinda lost me on that one /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif
     
  9. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    how do you adjust? I need to right now but I have no clue how you do it.
     
  10. scrappy88

    scrappy88 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Posts:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Loveland, CO
    To actually do the adjustment you loosen the two screws holding the TPS in place and rotate it either way until you get the proper voltage reading from it.
     
  11. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    they claim the TBI one is not adjustable. How do I clear my codes? I can't find it in the service book. It says see "section 2" when everything goes by chapters! I think I want my carburation back. I'm just gonna take it to my mechanic. I hate computer controlled vehicles I really do, I remember why now.
     
  12. scrappy88

    scrappy88 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Posts:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Loveland, CO
    If it's the stock GM TBI you can't adjust the TPS, but on the Holley TBI you can. I know what you mean about computer controlled crap. I love mine when it works but tracking down problems and bad sensors is a pain. /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif
     

Share This Page