Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Need help on a lift(extra stuff involved)

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by NewK5Guy, Sep 6, 2001.

1. NewK5Guy

NewK5Guy 1/2 ton status

My 84 k5 has what I believe to be actually only a 4" lift on it. There's no way it's a 6" like the guy who sold it to me said. Maybe the 4" PLUS the 35's make it a 6". Anyway, I want to swap in a TRUE 6" lift with rear springs. I've been pricing them for the last 2 months(the Superlift looks good). It will see mostly street driving with the occiasional beach or trail/gravel road/off the beaten path driving. No rock climbing, stump jumping, or river crossing. I'd like to know if the stock driveshafts will handle a 6" lift. I plan on upgrading to braided extended brake lines already. I decided not to get the Rancho RS9000 adjustable shocks I had originally planned on so I need to research a shock choice as well(mostly street driven but will be called upon to tow a car on dual axle trailer). The lift on the truck has a transfer case drop installed so I suppose I can leave that alone. It looks to be dropped about 1" or so(I'll have to measure). There also appears to be a raised steering arm installed as opposed to a dropped drag link, but I don't know how much raised it is. I will be retaining the 35" BFG MT's. I would go with an 8" lift, but am afraid of the cost of ancilliary parts(new driveshafts, etc). Pretty much, the rear slip yolk on te 208 scares me the most(hate for that thing to slip out). So, shoot me some info. If I can retain the driveshafts, great. If not, what's the going price for a custom set? What's a good shock choice, both for the 6 and 8" lift? Where can I get a set of extended brake lines or should I have a local shop fab me up a set? Thanks fellas!

2. hammer