Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Need help with My 96 1500 V6

Discussion in '1992-Present Chevy & GMC models' started by Corey 78K5, Aug 23, 2004.

  1. Corey 78K5

    Corey 78K5 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    13,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Humboldt County, CA
    My service engine light keeps poping on and sometimes the idle runs around 2000 rpm's /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif It will stop but only after I shut the engine down and start it back up. Could it be the throttle position sensor doing this /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif
     
  2. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    lots of shops will check your codes for free /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif it doesn't even have to be when the light is on, it often stores the code even if its not happening at that second. Or you could rip out the motor and drop in a big block and just junk that Vortec in my local yard /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif
     
  3. ugly_blazer

    ugly_blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,214
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could go to Autozone and get a lillte "key" and a book for free that you could use to check it and see what code it is.
     
  4. Corey 78K5

    Corey 78K5 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    13,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Humboldt County, CA
    [ QUOTE ]
    You could go to Autozone and get a lillte "key" and a book for free that you could use to check it and see what code it is.

    [/ QUOTE ]
    Oh great tell Me to go to a parts store that isn't with in 200 miles of me /forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif
    /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  5. ugly_blazer

    ugly_blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,214
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    You could go to Autozone and get a lillte "key" and a book for free that you could use to check it and see what code it is.

    [/ QUOTE ]
    Oh great tell Me to go to a parts store that isn't with in 200 miles of me /forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif
    /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]


    Oops, I thought autozone was the wal-mart of parts stores - everywhere you look you see one /forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  6. Pookster

    Pookster 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2000
    Posts:
    3,195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC, NY, USA
    a paperclip works just as well.

    check the codes- Probably an O2 or a TPS sensor.
     
  7. Corey 78K5

    Corey 78K5 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    13,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Humboldt County, CA
    [ QUOTE ]
    Oops, I thought autozone was the wal-mart of parts stores - everywhere you look you see one

    [/ QUOTE ]
    No Walmart around these parts either /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  8. Corey 78K5

    Corey 78K5 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    13,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Humboldt County, CA
    [ QUOTE ]
    a paperclip works just as well.


    [/ QUOTE ]
    So what do you do with a paper clip? BTW My truck has the OBD2 system.
     
  9. K5MONSTERCHEV

    K5MONSTERCHEV 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Posts:
    3,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castro Valley, CA
    Wont work on OBD2. You need a scaner.
     

Share This Page