Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

need help with tcase install

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by solowookie, Jun 22, 2001.

  1. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Hey,

    I've got my tcase install completed, but I had a couple of questions. I think I know the answeres, but I wanna sanity check!

    On top of the tcase is a rubber hose that wasn't connected to anything, and the same with the tranny. I'm assuming these are breather lines, and they should come up in the engine compartment with breathers???

    can anybody verify this, or tell me where they should be connected to???

    [​IMG] <font color=blue> Jeff </font color=blue> [​IMG]
     
  2. thatK30guy

    thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    32,076
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    .
    Yes, they are vent tubes, but they dont go up anywhere in the engine compartment. Sadly, they just sit above the case with approx. a 6" long rubber hose and a plastic vent/breather. If you want, you could get some longer hose and re-route it up to the firewall, up higher to keep water and dirt out. But for factory locations, they are just above the case and thats it.

    <font color=red>I m so we Todd did.
    I m sofa king we Todd did.</font color=red>
     
  3. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    thanks for the info Wes...

    there is no breather vent on those things so I'll probably order some K&N vents from summit with some rubber hose and run the things up inside the engine compartment...

    [​IMG] <font color=blue> Jeff </font color=blue> [​IMG]
     
  4. thatK30guy

    thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    32,076
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    .
    Jeff, I have heard and seen people use those little K&N breathers for the axles before. They even ran them up to the engine compartment on the firewall too. Looked pretty slick and worked great too! [​IMG]

    <font color=red>I m so we Todd did.
    I m sofa king we Todd did.</font color=red>
     
  5. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    hmmm... I'm gonna have to think about that one! never thought about doing the axles, but if I'm going to do it I might as well do it right!

    and too bad you don't have 3 k30's anymore!

    [​IMG] <font color=blue> Jeff </font color=blue> [​IMG]
     

Share This Page