Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Need more power for towing

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by planet6racing, Aug 9, 2001.

1. planet6racing

planet6racing Newbie

Hello!

I am new to this list, so please be nice! i recently purchased a 1982 GMC Jimmy High Sierra with the 305 engine in it. The engine only has 20,000 miles on it, but the vehicle sat for about 5 years with very little use.

My question is: what can I do to get more power out of the engine? I will be using the truck as a tow vehicle for my race car and trailer and will need torque for the hills. I have rebuilt the Quadrajet carburetor, but it still is not correct. I have very little experience with carb tuning, so I really don't know what I am doing there. I'm looking at purchasing a Edelbrock carb from Summit.

Additionally, I have an exhaust leak at the manifold gasket. I know it is going to be a pain in the butt to get the bolts out, but, would it be worth putting headers on right away? Also, what exhaust system should I use with the headers?

Thanks for any help! I'm hoping to get the body to at least look decent soon, but I want the engine running properly before winter comes!

Bill
    1982 GMC Jimmy High Sierra
    1992 Saturn SL2 - SCCA ITA Racecar
    Planet 6 Racing
    planet6racing@yahoo.com

2. 76chevy

76chevy 1/2 ton status

If you are going to mostly tow you have a few choices.

1. Sell your truck and buy another one with a 454 before you invest alot of money ($2300 and up for an engine and more for paint, possibly gears. By the way is it automatic or stick?). You may be better off just buying a truck set up like you need.

2. Swap out your engine with a 383 stroker. Search for 383 in the forum.

3. Swap out your engine with a 454 and probably some dirve train components.