Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Need opinions and ideas for possible floor heating

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by bad_bo_ti, Dec 20, 2005.

1. bad_bo_ti

bad_bo_ti 1/2 ton status

so i am getting my house built and have been thinking of doing the hydronic, under the floor concrete heating, i have researched some and have found some places say to insulate the whole thing then put the tubing down and others say insulate 8feet around the perimeter and then lay the tubing down so the middle acts as a heat sink, and some places say no insulation, i dont know what to do or if i am even going to do it, what do you guys think. thanks, chris

2. sled_dog

sled_dog 1 ton status

I am no expert at all, but we just built a new house and used radiant floor heating. We insulated the edges, then poured over that. Then built up and installed the in floor heat(wasn't around for that process to let you know how it was). I think dad said he has something like 15,000 into it(I really don't know), seems like a lot but when you consider the cost of setting up a normal forced air setup I guess its not really bad. Last I heard, he felt the rooms with carpet weren't getting enough of the heat out of the floor(large chunk of the house is tile and hardwood). He was going to have the guy who did most of the work come back and try to figure it out.

3. bad_bo_ti

bad_bo_ti 1/2 ton status

thanks for the repsonse, i forgot to add that most places on the net are saying to use the thin foil radiant insulation but people i talk to locally that have done it used styrofoam board. i thought about just putting insulation down and no radiant heat, but i dont know how much warmth i will have the floor over a regular slab. thanks again chris

4. sled_dog

sled_dog 1 ton status

We used styrofoam

5. kgblazerfive