Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Need opinions on Super Swamper TSL,IROK, andThornbird tires.........

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by kickinasphalt, May 22, 2004.

1. kickinasphalt

kickinasphalt Registered Member

Ordered my lift, have my rims, time for tires. I've been looking at Super Swamper TSL,IROK,and Thornbird tires because they are within my price range. This pickup is not a daily driver but will see highway/gravel often. Since I live in North Dakota, there is snow on the ground 11 months out of the year so I need a tire that works descent in that stuff. Will hit be in the mud too overcouse. I believe all three of these tires are bias and I have no experience with that kind of tire. What are the disadvantages with bias tires? If someone can help me out with this stuff (since I'm pretty new to off-road tires) that would be great. Thanks!

2. Fry

Fry 1/2 ton status

seems nobody like thornbirds, I've never had them but never seen anyone happy with them either.
    The TSL is a good tire same with the irok. Bias ply wear quicker than a radial and tend to handle worse on the highway.

3. 84gmcjimmy

84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

The thornbirds don't do well. There treads get packed with snow or mud so they don't have traction and can't clean. Bias are tougher and tend to get flat spots after sitting for a while. They handle rougher on-road, but are better off-road. I have heard alot of good things about the TSL's and the IROK's so the choice is yours. I'd recommend TSL's more for mud, and IROK's more for trails and rocks /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

4. rjfguitar

rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner