Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

need rear end input

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 90K5, Sep 10, 2001.

1. 90K5

90K5 1/2 ton status

Allright, I've got a few options on what I do about my rear end...
    I can get a 10 bolt with 3.73's out of an '83 2WD Suburban for $100, but its 28 spline, 5 bolt, and a 10 bolt

Or a 12 bolt with 4.11's with 6 bolts, but the guy got the 10 bolt mentioned above to replace it, so it may be bad, plus I need to weld the perches and shock mounts on, because its in like a '63 PU right now...can get it for $100 too.

I can also buy a 14SF at a junkyard for around $200, and probably have to spend another $200 on axleshafts, and a little more on drums

Anything I get is going to need brake work, which I'm not too good at, so thats more money I need to spend.

Obviously, the 14SF would be the best, but I don't have much money, and dont want to spend all of what I have on my truck. I really don't want either the 10 or 12 bolt, but getting a rear end at a junkyard is kinda risky too.

I know everyone is going to tell me to get a 14botl FF, but I'm not going to to that, I'll definatly have to get new rms for that, and thats just not what I want to do. There is no chance of this truck ever having tires larger than 33's on it as long as I own it, so I don't really need a 14bolt FF.

I need to make this decision fast, I really hate getting rides, and I'm not going to get to drive my brother's car forever....

90K5

2. 90K5

90K5 1/2 ton status

Oh yeah, I guess I could rebuild my 10 bolt, but thats a lose.lose situation, becasue it will cost a lot, and its still a 10 bolt

BTW, Whatever I do, I'm going to have to regear the front to match the rear, so more $$$$$$$

90K5

3. Pugsley

Pugsley 1/2 ton status