Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Need some advice....lookin for a project blazer

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by midwest wheeler, Mar 3, 2003.

1. midwest wheeler

midwest wheeler Registered Member

Hi everybody,
    newbie here, although I have been a member for awhile(I bought some tires from a member a while back) I haven't really hung out here very much, but I would like to start.
    My question is: I'm looking for a project blazer 1973 and up, really want a 73-75 full covertable, but any fullsize would work too. I was hoping you guys could give me some hints as what to look for or stay away from. I am looking at it for mainly a hunting/wheeling vehicle, not daily driver. Probably 4 inch lift and 35's is gonna be about it.
    I would really like to hear any input you guys had!
    Thanks for the help everybody.
    Don

2. 89GMCSuburban

89GMCSuburban 1/2 ton status

The only downside to your plan is the full-convertible when wheeling. If the cap is on, it could crack on you. I've heard of this happening. Frame flex stretches the roof to the point that it can crack. If anything, take the roof off to wheel hardcore.
    The 4" and 35's will work, but you will rub at full flex, so prepare to cut sheet metal.
    Good basis, that's for sure, and the good thing is you know what you're looking for...that's the best way to go about it.
    Watch for rust, a definite plague of these trucks. Try to get a 350 or 400 engine, the 305 is not a good choice for power. Look at the frame near the steering box for cracks, these things tend to crack there when wheeled hard. Other than that, look for the usual things when you're gonna buy a truck...leaks and stuff. Good luck with your project!

3. Panther

Panther 1/2 ton status