Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

need some assistance

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by general blaze, Sep 8, 2005.

1. general blaze

general blaze 1/2 ton status

ok. i am new to diesels. anyway my oil pressure was reading fine since i bought the truck. now as soon as i turn the key on the oil pressure guage pegs. I tried looking around under the hood but i dont see any lines going into the dash for an analog guage so i am guessing it is a digial guage. in this case where the hell is the sensor or oil pressure valve that might be stuck.. some assistance asap would help since this is my only working vehicle right now and i am supposed to go off roading in a couple hours.

2. diesel4me

diesel4me 1 ton status Premium Member

wire pinched...or..

If the wire going to the sending unit gets grounded,like if it gets pinched or rubs thru and gets grounded,it will peg the needle on the gauge..a sending unit might cause the same symptoms if it gets stuck--(assuming you have the stock GM gauges!)...
    I've never looked for the oil sending unit on my 6.2--I assume its probably in the same spot as a gas motor in the back of the block,or near the oil filter..I'd suspect the wire more than the sending unit,check the wire first..usually its a tan or brown wire for the oil pressure sender.. :crazy:

3. general blaze

general blaze 1/2 ton status