Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

need to brag

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by ryan22re, Jan 23, 2006.

  1. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
    my prototype engine starts! cranked for a couple of seconds, and bam!

    i guess being the new guy, people seem to think that i would have at least screwed something up, but looks like i got it right on the first try. it would have been easier to wire the thing from scratch, but i had to splice two prototype wiring harnesses together. one had nothing but purple wires in it. (and three black wires :D )

    looks like i get to keep my job at least for a little while.

    in case you were wondering, the engine in question is a 6.0 powerstroke with the new 2007 model year heads and fuel system.
     
  2. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    6.0 with 2007 heads and fuel system? I was hearing they were coming out with a new engine for 2007 since the 6.0 sucks so much and the emission changes.

    Don't you love International wiring? My buddy was telling me about an International truck that had a short he worked on. All of the wires under teh dash were white, HA.
     
  3. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Same question here...huh? I thought '07 was supposed to be a different motor.
     
  4. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
    yeah, its a 6.4 uses the same overall block design though. dont have any specs on bore/stroke for the 6.4. the engine we have is like 389cu in (which is a 6.0) and its a single turbo, there were rumors of twins on it, but only the earliest prototypes had twins.
     
  5. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    uh... 389 is a 6.4L...

    a 6.0L is a 364(same as the Chevy 6.0L).
     
  6. beater_k20

    beater_k20 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Posts:
    10,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    wires all one color? welcome to my world. :rolleyes: all of out motorhomes are wired that way, and they probably have 5x the circuits an passenger vehicle has.

    way to go gettin it going! :waytogo:
     
  7. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
    yeah...i thought about that after a while, and am not thinking right.

    bore is 98.2 mm
    stroke is 105 mm

    which is 6.4L

    so i guess it is a 6.4

    goes to show you that a bachelors in engineering doesnt mean that you know what you are talking about ( the engineer over the project is the one that told me it's a 6.0 with 6.4 heads).
     
  8. mikey_d05

    mikey_d05 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Now now, play nice. :p:

    So is this essentially a production motor then?
     
  9. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    sounds sweet man. What is your job title? I see "Dyno operator" in your profile but is that it?
     
  10. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC

    yes and no. they changed the design of the front cover, the design of the cyl heads (in relation to injector size), and some other minor stuff.

    that about sums it up. i run two dyno's (when there is work), and prep the engines to run on the dyno. we also have about 5 test stands where we test injectors, pumps and such, but i dont work on them, except for on rare occasions. working second shift right now 4-12. has been pretty good so far.
     
  11. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    hmm... try a helicopter that any one compartment has 20 times the wires under the hood of about anything out there.... and they are all white.... but you cant be color blind to be avionics.... glad im Hydraulics.....:haha:

    anywho, congrats on the motor. :D
    Grant
     
  12. muddysub

    muddysub 1 ton suburban status Staff Member Moderator GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Posts:
    10,451
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    my garage, Henderson, NV
    ahhh awesome i now have someone to talk diesel with! ive got an associates in mech engineering...

    what all did navistar change about the fuel system to meet the 07 regs? i havent heard anything about the 6.4 yet... i used to stay right on top of th whole deiles world back when Cat's ACERT was new, but lately ive fallen behind the pace....
     
  13. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
    using an 1800 bar pump (aprrox 26,000 psi) which means no more high pressure oil pump.
     
  14. muddysub

    muddysub 1 ton suburban status Staff Member Moderator GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Posts:
    10,451
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    my garage, Henderson, NV
    hmmmm... interesting.
     

Share This Page