Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Needed K5 Upgrades for daily driver/weekend warior.

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 90_K5 Blazer, Apr 15, 2007.

1. 90_K5 Blazer

90_K5 Blazer 1/2 ton status

Hey yall,

First off, I have to say that yes I did search the forums so don't slam me because I misssed something, yes, I am a newbie!

Anyhow, I just bought a 1990 k5 blazer with only 90,000 miles on it, and because it was owned by an old man, it is in pristine condition! I have to use it for my daily driver, and being a college student, i'm on a very tight budget, so there will be no dana 60's or 14bolts in the near future! It is a 350 with a sm465 4 speed trans and the np241 trasfer case along with 3.08 diff gears with locking diff in the rear, all factory stuff.

But my main question is, what are NEEDED upgrades to keep this thing reliable for occasional offroading? I'm not putting any bigger tires than what's already on it (31's) or anything radical, just needed upgrades to keep this thing preety strong? I've heard about transfer case snap rings breaking?

Thanks guys, I appreciate all your help! and remember, i'm in college, so i'm POOR! : )

Eric

2. 1990k5fan

1990k5fan 1/2 ton status

Just all the maintence and don't kill it trying to do something stupid :P.
    Cap and rotor, spark plugs, oil change, fuel filter..You know basic stuff.
    Just get it running good and it will last for a while.

My 90 has 136k miles ( my dads the original owner) and it still runs strong every day.

3. Thunder

Thunder 3/4 ton status

I really don't think you need anything if you are going to stay with the stock 31" tires. You already have a good strong basic 4 wheeler. The SM465 &241 xfer case is a very good combo. They are both strong units