Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Needing advise

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by diaedy, Aug 3, 2005.

  1. diaedy

    diaedy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ct
    Just installed a new 350 in my sons blazer and ran into a snag. Installed a new Edelbrock 600 carb in plase of the quadrajet and now the shift cable from the 400r does not hook up to carb. Do not have any idea what you guys do or the right way to go about this problem. All advise will be welcome and I will be more than gratefull
    Diaedy :(
     
  2. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,526
    Likes Received:
    526
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    400r = ?:confused:

    edelbrock has all the brackets and parts for this swap in there site or catalog
     
  3. diaedy

    diaedy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ct
    sweetk30

    thanks for the info. Sort of gussed that but thought maybe there was a cheap fix I did not pick up on
     
  4. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,621
    Likes Received:
    1,371
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    is it a 3 spd auto Turbo 400 or a 4 spd auto 700r4? the 400 has a kickdown, the 700 has a tv cable...

    as said above, prolly available on their site or hunt around Summit...
     
  5. diaedy

    diaedy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ct
    it's got that tv cable. though maybe i could just find a stud but i was wrong.
     
  6. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,621
    Likes Received:
    1,371
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
  7. diaedy

    diaedy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ct
    The bracket we have is bolted yto the manifold not the carb. It did have a quad on it which was a cast iron stock one. Now there is an edelbrock performer but same bracket????????? Really confused
     
  8. diaedy

    diaedy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ct
    Bye the way. Liking your rig
     
  9. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,621
    Likes Received:
    1,371
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    thanks... :D lots of projects to do... getting tired of running around on stock running gear... its all money.. i could throw 10g's at it in a heartbeat... ;)

    anyway, yes, a tv cable bracket will bolt to the last 2 manifold bolts, at least with my tbi it does... i'm thinking the performer intake should be similar in those mounting points... maybe you could just tweak it some so it'll hook to that carb...

    here's a blurry pic of mine with the tbi....
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page