Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

New and Improved Junk

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 1Blazin71, May 23, 2002.

1. 1Blazin71

1Blazin71 1/2 ton status

Having more money than time right now I just got my 71 back from a 1 ton conversion and wanted to report some of my results.

I had been collecting parts for about 6 months: military surplus 4.56 14FF, 8 lug conversion parts, etc. I had most of the work done at the 4XDoctor in Burbank, CA and overall am VERY pleased with their work and the outcome. I have a few minor bugs to work out.

Heres what went into it:
    - 14BFF rear with 4.56 & detroit
    - Alcan 4" rear springs w/ greasable bushings
    - NWMP 37 gal fuel tank
    - ChromMo axle shafts for D44
    - New hubs, rotors, backing plates, and spindles (8 lug) from Border Parts in San Diego.
    - Detroit & 4.56 ring & pinion for the front
    - Custom 4" Alcans for the front (Specs provided by Stephan Watson at ORD & Greg72 of CK5 fame)
    - ORD HD front shackle
    - Sleeved the original tie rod
    - Had the passenger knuckle tapped for steering arm while it was off to make cross over steering a bit easier when I get around to it.
    - The new front Alcans are WAY soft and we had some trouble with the stock shock mounts. I had dual RS9012 and those were too short to let the springs fully droop. We ended up using RS9112 and moving the shock mounts up into the inner fender well by about 2".
    - Procomp 35" ATs on 16x85. Welds.

It all works great. I had 3.73's and wasnt feeling all the power my ZZ4 has and with the new suspension it hooks up real nice. The ride quality with the new springs is phenominal!

I still have to replace the 4" lift front brake lines with longer rubber ones before I ramp/wheel it.