Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

New Carb Kwestions

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by jimmyjack, Feb 9, 2002.

  1. jimmyjack

    jimmyjack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Posts:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson Az
    For the carb gurus. I went last night and got a new reman Holley QJet for my blazer. I put it on, but wasnt able to torque it correctly. I fired it up and it runs great, I sprayed carb cleaner around the base and it's not sucking air. This AM I came and was able to get another 1/4 turn on the bolts, fired it up and all is still well. The problem is it idles at about 700 or so, but after I drive it the rev's are wayyyyyy up, around 1500 or so. SO, what gives? I don't think I have a vac leak......

    That jeep thing? Yah I understand it....... Like my Blazer? <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/user/blazerk5>http://community.webshots.com/user/blazerk5</a>
    Jim
     
  2. Chevit

    Chevit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    dnaltroP, nogerO
    I have gone thru three re-mans from Holly and will not go there again. I have had nothing but problems with all of them. I have heard some good things about the Edelbrock Q-jets and I thinking about going in that direction after the tax return.





    .

    84 K5, Crate 350, 700r tranny, 3.73 rear, 32 11.50 15, Q-jet
     
  3. jimmyjack

    jimmyjack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Posts:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson Az
    No DOUBT! Unfortunately this is a warranty replacement. It's the 6th one in 15 months. It fired right up and I had to turn to high idle down a 1/4 turn but other than that its really smooth!

    That jeep thing? Yah I understand it....... Like my Blazer? <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/user/blazerk5>http://community.webshots.com/user/blazerk5</a>
    Jim
     
  4. NoSmog73

    NoSmog73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2001
    Posts:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lodi,ca
    Hey chevit get ahold of greg72 he had a hell of a time with the edelbrock q-jet and I think he was on his 3rd one just go and do a search for nightmare (not kidding)and there should be some of the post's about the carb.-later mike Ya I also saw the repo's for the edlebrocks in jeg's today but passed because for some reason they came back????????

    <P ID="edit"><FONT class="small">Edited by NoSmog73 on 02/09/02 07:00 PM.</FONT></P>
     
  5. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,975
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Sounds like perhaps your choke is resetting itself. Check that out.

    Dorian
    My tech/links page: <a target="_blank" href=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</a>
    Why insist on counting when the ring gear has the tooth counts stamped in?
     
  6. jimmyjack

    jimmyjack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Posts:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson Az
    I adjusted the choke a little bit and now its lags really bad so I need to find the sweet spot in the middle.

    That jeep thing? Yah I understand it....... Like my Blazer? <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/user/blazerk5>http://community.webshots.com/user/blazerk5</a>
    Jim
     
  7. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,975
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    No sweet spot with chokes, except off.
    When the truck is cold, the choke should be on. When the truck is up to operating temp, and well before, the choke should be completely off.

    Adjust the choke so it meets those criteria, and take it from there. Sounds like timing could be an issue as well, but fix one problem at a time.

    Dorian
    My tech/links page: <a target="_blank" href=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</a>
    Why insist on counting when the ring gear has the tooth counts stamped in?
     
  8. jimmyjack

    jimmyjack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Posts:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson Az
    So do you think its sticking or is it a high idle adjustment?

    That jeep thing? Yah I understand it....... Like my Blazer? <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/user/blazerk5>http://community.webshots.com/user/blazerk5</a>
    Jim
     

Share This Page