Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

New engine...wont run?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by ak bandit, May 23, 2006.

  1. ak bandit

    ak bandit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Posts:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Eagle River, Alaska
    Background;
    Okay, It's not really a new engine, its just new for me. Rebuilt 396 with 500 miles on it. I have a used Edelbrock Performer electric choke carb (600cfm) mounted on the intake. The carb worked fine when I pulled it off my old 350. I'm using an Accel distributor with points. New cap, new plugs, and new plug wires. Also has a new Holley mechanical fuel pump.
    I'm fairly certain that I have everything wired up correctly. But when I turn the key, it fires but it wont run. Same thing every time I turn the key. When it fires, its healthy sounding. I know its getting fuel because I can see it in the filter. I'm just not sure if its getting enough fuel. Sorry for the vague question, but does this sound like an igntion/timing problem or does it sound like a fuel/carb problem? Let me know if more info is needed.
     
  2. 78Suburban

    78Suburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    Are you shure that when you installed the dizzy that the #1 cylinder was at Top Dead Center of the compression stroke, and the rotor was pointing toward #1 cylinder? Are you shure you have the right firing order, and #5 & #7 plug wires aren't switched up? Just checking the basics..
     
  3. ak bandit

    ak bandit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Posts:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Eagle River, Alaska
    I'm pretty sure that I installed the distributor with #1 at TDC. Of course, it was my first time so I could be wrong. What will it do if you dont have TDC? I'm postive I have the firing order correct. Because I switched the plug wires 180 degrees and then switched them back. When I switched them 180 degrees it wouldnt fire at all. It just kept revving the starter. But when I switched them back it fired again.
     
  4. RingMaster4x4

    RingMaster4x4 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bartlett, Texas
    It sounds to me like you have a carb adjustment problem. Have tried pumping the fuel pedal? any differance? have you made any adjustments since you took it off the 350?
     
  5. JEBSR

    JEBSR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    almost sounds like the timming is retarded. Have you tried advancing it while having someone start it to get it right?

    Also that carb will not keep it from running (as far as the cfm) but it is real small for that motor. I would go with a 750 personally
     
  6. ak bandit

    ak bandit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Posts:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Eagle River, Alaska
    I havent made any adjustments since the 350. And I was just thinking about that. With this engine being more cubic inches, could the mixture be too lean?
     
  7. resurrected_jimmy

    resurrected_jimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Posts:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    back home in Houston
    I don't think it would be so lean as to not let the engine start.
     
  8. ak bandit

    ak bandit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Posts:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Eagle River, Alaska
    I was also thinking that the timing could be retarded too much. How much adjustment do I have in the distributor? An inch either way?
     
  9. JEBSR

    JEBSR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    you can turn that thing over 1/4 turn as long as your not hitting anything turn it. however if you have to turn it that much it's probrably a tooth off.
     
  10. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    Does it die when you back the key from the "start" position to the "run" position? Or does it run somewhat after?
     
  11. ak bandit

    ak bandit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Posts:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Eagle River, Alaska
    It doesnt run at all. It stops firing as soon as I turn the key to off.
    Okay...I'm looking at my Edelbrock Performer carb and my secondaries are wide open right now....just sitting there. They should be closed right? Also there's no tension on them at all. I can flip them open and closed with no resistance? :1zhelp:
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2006
  12. ak bandit

    ak bandit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Posts:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Eagle River, Alaska
    Okay...I just confirmed that my #1 is at TDC. I also checked to make sure all plug wires are connected in the right order. So I can rule that out as the culprit. I still dont think my carb is functioning properly. I'm stumped :confused:
     
  13. imaginepro

    imaginepro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Posts:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. George, Utah
    Have you tryed putting gas stright in the carb. That will tell you if it is a fule pump prob or filter.
     
  14. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    I would check 2 things first off... turn your key on and check for power at the positive side of the coil...

    if that checks out, try squirting some gas down the carb and see if it runs... When you move the throttle do you see the carb squirting gas in the primaries?
     
  15. ak bandit

    ak bandit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Posts:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Eagle River, Alaska
    ryoken, I checked my coil last night and I am getting power to it. I checked and rechecked all the wiring and everything seems to have power.

    I havent tried putting gas straight into the carb yet. I'll try that tonight. Also, I noticed that my fuel filter isnt completely filled with fuel. Shouldnt it be closer to 100% full with maybe some air bubbles? Here's a picture of it right now.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2006
  16. RingMaster4x4

    RingMaster4x4 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bartlett, Texas
    That should be plenty of fuel. so just sitting there your sec. are open?
     
  17. RingMaster4x4

    RingMaster4x4 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bartlett, Texas
    they should be closed. are the sec. vaccum operated?
     
  18. ak bandit

    ak bandit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Posts:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Eagle River, Alaska
    Could it be my electric choke not functioning correctly?
     
  19. bp71k5

    bp71k5 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Posts:
    6,239
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    it sounds like the timing to me.
     

Share This Page