Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

New gauges w/ pics

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by outsider223, Jun 29, 2003.

  1. outsider223

    outsider223 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Posts:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    Just finished installing new gauges to replace the original idiot lights. Gauges are so much better, now I can actually tell whats going on under the hood.

    Gauges
    Installed Gauges
    Wiring
     
  2. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    Right on, looks good....what did you do with the cluster housing in getting them to fit? I've been wanting to upgrade my gauges.
     
  3. Bhintz

    Bhintz 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Posts:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Roswell, Ga
    nice /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  4. TONYP

    TONYP 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    so cal
    very nice... /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
    I need to do mine just because half of them don't work anymore...
     
  5. 77Jimmy

    77Jimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    661
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Very nice!!! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  6. outsider223

    outsider223 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Posts:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    [ QUOTE ]
    Right on, looks good....what did you do with the cluster housing in getting them to fit? I've been wanting to upgrade my gauges.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    To make room for the gauges, I cut out the back of the cluster housing with a dremel tool. I left the "ring" if you will where the dash screws into the cluster. I left the printed circuit intact because some of the original lights use a ground on that.
     
  7. DieselDan

    DieselDan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Posts:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vermont
    Kewl. What size gauges did you use to fit the ring 2 1/16"?
     
  8. BayouBlazer88

    BayouBlazer88 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2002
    Posts:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lafayette, LA
    What aftermarket gauges did you use? and what did you put in place of the stock fuel gauge? and it looks great if I might add.
     
  9. AntAZBlaz

    AntAZBlaz 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa AZ
    great job i wish i had that look.
     
  10. outsider223

    outsider223 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Posts:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    Bayou - I used Autometer's Phantom gauges. I think they are listed under racing gauges. They are the electrical short sweep version. Right now the stock fuel gauge is still sitting there with nothing hooked up to it, by the end of the summer I plan to put a tachometer in that spot. It wasn't that hard of a job, it just took some time to make it look good.

    Diesel - They are the 2 1/16 diameter gauges.
     

Share This Page