Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

New GM CD player in a 90 K5

Discussion in 'Audio' started by Hardcore, Oct 8, 2003.

  1. Hardcore

    Hardcore 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Posts:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    I have access to a newer CD stereo out of a silverado (No I didn't steel it) /forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif Since the size is the same I was wondering if the plug would be the same as my 1990 K5. I actually like the newer stereos, the buttons are large and its easy to use in the stupid factory location.

    Anyone mount a newer GM stereo in their old K5? /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif
     
  2. Rebel88

    Rebel88 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2000
    Posts:
    1,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Depending on the year(like how new it is) the wiring is different...the plug on the newer radios is very different than that of the early to mid 90s...not to mention if the vehicle had onstar it will be a bit of a bigger pita

    Later
     
  3. K05Aggie

    K05Aggie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Posts:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    I've never heard of anyone doing it, but I've thought of it for my Blazer. Even though the plugs aren't the same, if you can mark the wires from the Blazer stereo and the wires coming out of the new plug before you cut them off, you can easily solder it up.
    Like you said, it should fit.
     
  4. Hardcore

    Hardcore 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Posts:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    Was looking at a stereo from a 95-98 chevy truck. I could remake a wiring harness. Anyone ever had one of the "Theft-Lock" units reprogrammed by the dealer. What do you have to do? My buddy pulled his out the truck and put in a pioneer one. What do I need to do to his to bypass or fix the Theft-Lock feature /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     
  5. 3car

    3car 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Posts:
    976
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hernando, Florida
    my local chevy dealer wants 37.50 to unlock one(minimum labor rate,da'bastards!).they are only locked if the previous owner activated the feature,so it might not be locked.theres a tech article at www.thirdgen.org on puting a late model radio in an older camaro which should be helpful to you.
     
  6. barryb

    barryb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield MO
    the theft lock is a code you enter when you power it up and should be relatively easy to get as long as your radio still has the reference number on the bottom, have your buddy look in his owners manual and see if the factory card is still in it that lists the number your after. METRA makes both plugs you could just buy and snap the wiring in , you will also need a antenna adapter for the antenna hole on the newer radio will be too small ..
     
  7. Hardcore

    Hardcore 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Posts:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    Metra? is that a brand name? /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif
     
  8. barryb

    barryb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield MO

Share This Page