Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

New guy - In Cab Winch Control

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 1984Stepside, Apr 24, 2007.

1. 1984Stepside

1984Stepside Registered Member

Hey guys, I'm new to ck5. I just got my truck back here at school, and hunterguy86 told me about ck5. We have only had it back a few days, but we have done some minor mods to it so far.

A pic of the truck, before the 4 1/2 hour drive from East Texas, back to San Marcos.
    (1984 K10 SWB Stepside, 350/sm465/np208 10bolts, 3.73 gears, Gov-Loc, WARN 8274, 3in Body Lift, 33x12.50x15's)

[​IMG]

Here is a few pics of the install of a In-Cab Winch control for my 8274 Warn.

This is where we ran the wires to the cab. The camera died, so no pics of the actual winch right now.

[​IMG]

These are the two holes that we drilled to mount the switches to. One switch is the override, which has a guard over it. The other is a three position mometary, for in and out.

[​IMG]

The wiring before I put the switches in.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Control switches installed, before the paint.

[​IMG]

I decided to put "Plan B" on the override guard, since, if I get stuck, "Plan B" will be pulling winch cable.

[​IMG]

Couple shots of the switches, with the guard painted, installed. Also, the case of Keystone Light is painted onto the dash, it's not just a reflection. ;)

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Also, we installed a tach on that bad boy. Here's a couple of pics.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Great site guys, and I'll be looking forward to installing the lift and posting pics.

Last edited: Apr 25, 2007
  2. hunterguy86

hunterguy86 1/2 ton status

4 1/2 hour drive and the truck rides like a dream. Muds good too. This truck is in excellent shape and will only be getting better!

3. TexasBlazerBoy

TexasBlazerBoy 1/2 ton status